Wed 15 Aug 20:00
Music / Text / Images

Music of Displacement

Hezarfen Ensemble
15 Aug
  • 15 Aug
    First performance
    Maschinenhaus, Essen


Hezarfen Ensemble informed Ruhrtriennale on Monday, August 13, that they cancel their concert on Wednesday in Maschinenhaus Essen. They released a statement concerning their cancellation on their website . Purchased tickets will be refunded by Ruhrtriennale. Please return your tickets to the ticket agency where they were purchased.

Refugees and displacement are fundamental issues of our time. In Music of Displacement, Hezarfen Ensemble opens a window to reflection on peoples close to the borders of Turkey who have suffered displacement due to war and expulsion from the last century to today. From the mass 1915-1923 Armenian, Greek and Turkish population displacements and exchanges in the wake of the First World War during Turkey’s struggle for independence, from forced expulsions from Bulgaria in the late 80’s and 1990 into Turkey, to the 4 million Syrian refugees in Turkey in 2018, the areas surrounding Anatolia have had more than their share of displaced peoples. In this programme, period photo stills accompanied by the powerfully evocative poetry of Yaşar Kemal, Neşe Yaşin, Giorgos Seferis, and refugee authors, are interspersed between a full programme of commissioned instrumental works, by composers associated with each region: Manos Charalabopoulos, Chatschatur Kanajan, Bassem Alkhouri and Yannis Kyriakides. This version of Displacement includes works newly commissioned by Ruhrtriennale by two composers, Berkant Gençkal and Nadim Husni, who, (like some of our musicians) have themselves been displaced. Through poetry, visuals and music, Music of Displacement reflects on the consequences of the nation-building projects that irrevocably shaped the destinies of so many.

Since its inception in 2010, Hezarfen Ensemble has changed the landscape of contemporary music in Turkey. With its infectious energy and signature transcultural projects ranging from opera to Music of Displacement and numerous premieres from within Turkey and beyond, Hezarfen aims to define new possibilities for music in the 21st century.

Michael Ellison / Ulrich Mertin – Hezarfen Ensemble

Further Information

Artist talk after the performance

All works are commissions by Hezarfen Ensemble 2013 and Ruhrtriennale / Hezarfen Ensemble 2018. A production by Ruhrtriennale.

Funded by Kunststiftung NRW.


Orchestra Hezarfen Ensemble
Musical direction Fazlı Orhun Orhon
Artistic Concept Michael Ellison
Video Editing and Compositing NOHlab
Sound Ulrich Mertin Erdem Helvacıoğlu
With texts by Yaşar Kemal Giorgos Seferis Neşe Yaşın Okan Say Aspasia Georgiou

Further Information


We use cookies on our site to enable basic website functions and to improve our online service. We also use cookies to collect anonymous statistics. If you do not agree with the use of cookies, you can make adjustments by clicking the "Settings" button. All settings can be changed and withdrawn from at any time at More information…

Information about the cookies used on this website can be found under "Settings"

Cookie settings