© Jörg Brüggemann
Fri 11 Sep Sat 12 Sep

Bernd Alois Zimmermann / Gustav Mahler

11 Sep
12 Sep

No other work of the second half of the 20th century so emphatically unites radiance of sound, direct emotion and biographical tragedy as much as Stille und Umkehr by Bernd Alois Zimmermann. It is Zimmermann’s final orchestral composition, written shortly before his suicide, whose 50th anniversary falls in 2020.

The tone D that is played from beginning to end burrows into the brain like tinnitus and sets off a persistent meditation on that tone. For a moment it is possible to appreciate the “sphericity” which Zimmermann pursued throughout his composing career – where past, present and future are united in time.

Gustav Mahler’s 6th Symphony also shows how personal suffering can be turned into music. As if struck by a giant hammer, violence switches abruptly into tenderness and tenderness into violence. In its ruggedly direct nature, this monumental work lasting 85 minutes, written between 1903 and 1904, is a herald of the modern age to come.

Jahrhunderthalle Bochum
An der Jahrhunderthalle 1
44793 Bochum

More at this location:
Jahrhunderthalle Bochum

Further Information

Introduction 45 minutes prior to show.

Bernd Alois Zimmermann: Stille und Umkehr (1970) 10‘ Gustav Mahler: 6. Symphony(1903/1904) 82‘ Produced by Ruhrtriennale in co-operation with Bochumer Symphoniker and Malmö Operaorkester.


Musical direction Steven Sloane
Orchestra Bochumer Symphoniker
With Malmö Opera


We use cookies on our site, in which different information can be stored. Some are used to enable basic website functions, others are used for statistical purposes and to improve our online service. If you click on "Accept", you agree to this. If you do not agree, you can adjust your settings by clicking on the "Adjust settings" button. You can object to the use of cookies at any time and deactivate their storage in the settings of your browser. You will find more detailed information in our data protection declaration at ruhr3.com/datenschutz. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. In this way, your shopping cart is saved during the ordering process and you can log on to the website.

Cookies are also needed to enhance the experience on the website. They allow you to play media on Youtube, Vimeo, Soundcloud or Spotify. In addition, we use zoho forms to allow you to subscribe to certain productions and Mailchimp to subscribe to various newsletters.

Finally, cookies are also used to make marketing activities as efficient and personal as possible. We use Google Analytics to collect information for statistical purposes and to improve our online services.

Cookie settings