Biographies UNIVERSE, INCOMPLETE

Christoph Marthaler, Director

Titus Engel, Musical direction

Anna Viebrock, Stage design and costume design

Andreas (Phoenix) Hofer, Light

Bochumer Symphoniker

The Rhetoric Project

Schlagquartett Köln

 

Christoph Marthaler

was born in Erlenbach near Zürich in 1951 and spent the Seventies and Eighties employed as a musician for various German-speaking theatres culminating in a sustained period of work at Theater Basel from 1988 to 1993. His innovative theatrical vocabulary became established in Germany with the 1993 production Murx den Europäer! Murx ihn! Murx ihn! Murx ihn! Murx ihn ab! (Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz, Berlin). From 2000 to 2004 Marthaler was Artistic Director of Schauspielhaus Zürich, which was voted “Theatre of the Year” twice during this period. More than 15 of his productions have been invited to the Berlin Theatertreffen. He has also been awarded numerous prizes including most recently the Golden Lion at the Venice Biennale and the City of Zürich Art Prize and his productions have been presented at leading festivals around the globe. Marthaler has also directed at several opera houses including in Paris, Zürich, Madrid and the Salzburg Festival.

 

Titus Engel

An openness to innovative projects and concert forms combined with unparalleled technical precision distinguishes Titus Engel as one of the leading creative minds among the conductors of his generation. Alongside his interest in the very newest music and symphonic works of the 19th and 20th centuries he also has a deep passion for baroque music. Born in Zürich in 1975, he studied Musicology and Philosophy in Zürich and Berlin and trained as a conductor in Dresden. After Gerard Mortier invited him to the Teatro Real in 2011 an international career ensued that has taken him to the Vlaamse Opera (Czernowin’s ‘Infinite Now’ - Premiere of the Year 2017), Staatsoper Stuttgart, Staatsoper Hamburg, Staatsoper Berlin, Frankfurt Opera and Theater Basel (Stockhausen’s ‘Donnerstag aus Licht’ – Production of the Year 2016 – and ‘La Traviata’ 2017). In the concert field he enjoys close artistic relationships with the SWR and WDR symphony orchestras and with Klangforum Wien.

 

Anna Viebrock

was born in Cologne in 1951 and studied stage design with Karl Kneidl at the Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf. Her collaboration with Christoph Marthaler took her to numerous international theatres and opera houses and she was a member of the leading team at Schauspielhaus Zürich until the summer of 2004. She has also developed opera productions with the directing team of Jossi Wieler/Sergio Morabito since 1994. Anna Viebrock’s own career as a director began in 2002 and she has created productions for Staatsoper Hannover, the Opéra de Paris, Staatsoper Stuttgart, Schauspielhaus Zürich, Theater Basel and Schauspiel Köln. She has been given a total of 16 “Stage Designer of the Year” and “Costume Designer of the Year” awards. Exhibitions of her stage design models have been presented in Rotterdam, Prague, Frankfurt am Main, Madrid, Brussels, Ghent, Avignon, Helsinki, Basel and Giessen. The State of Hesse awarded her the Hessian Prize for Culture in 1997, she was presented with the Berlin Theatre Prize in 2004 and the Hein-Heckroth Prize in 2013. Anna Viebrock is a professor at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna.

 

Andreas (Phoenix) Hofer,

born 1971 in Vienna, studied chemical engineering in Linz. Initial lighting activities in Posthof Linz then led him to the Vienna Festival and Salzburg Festival, where he accompanied numerous productions since 1997. From 2002 on he created the light for various dance productions from the independent scene. Since 2005, he designed the light for many productions by Christoph Marthaler. At the Bregenzer Festspiele 2015 he was responsible for the lighting design in the production "Hoffmanns Erzählungen" directed by Stefan Herheim. This collaboration has resulted in a lot of new creations in Hamburg, Oslo, Lyon, Paris and Berlin.Other works were done in Vienna, Avignon, Berlin and Köln. Since autumn 2013 he has been teaching lighting design at the scenography class of Academy of Fine Arts Vienna.

Bochumer Symphoniker

Founded in 1919, over the course of its history the Bochumer Symphoniker has evolved into one of the leading concert ensembles in Western Germany. Since Steven Sloane became General Music Director of the Bochumer Symphoniker in 1994, it has twice won the coveted award for “Best Concert Programme”. The orchestra has also made a name for itself internationally. It has toured to Israel, Austria, Estonia and the USA as well as making regular appearances at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam and the Ruhrtriennale. The Bochumer Symphoniker has repeatedly been involved in unusual, cross art form projects: performing on several occasions with Herbert Grönemeyer, accompanying over 65,000 singers as the “auf Schalke” stadium orchestra in Gelsenkirchen, playing with Jethro Tull frontman Ian Anderson and the legendary a capella group Take Six, accompanying Sting in seven cities in Germany and Switzerland and performing on the Harald Schmidt Show. It has also made a name for itself with a series of multi award-winning CD recordings.

 

The Rhetoric Project

combines the benefits of an ensemble culture with the desire to mix different musical styles at the highest level. The Rhetoric Project is a network of musicians brought together by the conductor Titus Engel that performs in varying chamber music and orchestral formations. Its repertoire stretches from ancient music to contemporary music and improvisation. At its core it combines historical expertise with contemporary openness and performative energy. In this way it aims to produce early 21st century music with a rhetorical quality that “stirs the emotions” (Geminiani).
The Rhetoric Project is not a fixed line-up with established positions but is assembled according to the demands of each project from a pool of musicians made up of international soloists, members of special ensembles and musicians from leading orchestras.

 

Schlagquartett Köln

Since Schlagquartett Köln made its debut in 1989 it has represented the innovative development of percussion instruments in the 20th century. In addition to nurturing the repertoire of percussion music that has grown markedly in recent years, the Schlagquartett also concentrates on premiering new works. Its four musicians extend the horizon of the world of percussion instruments both within the laboratory conditions of the quartet form and in co-operation with other ensembles. Schlagquartett Köln has achieved considerable success and a worldwide reputation with concert tours, radio recordings, CDs and music theatre productions. It also performs regularly at leading new music festivals including guest appearances at the Berliner Festwochen, the Wittener Tage für Neue Kammermusik, musica viva in Munich, the Ilkhom Festival in Uzbekistan, the Eclat Festival in Stuttgart, Warsaw Autumn, the Transit Festival in Leuven, the Ultraschall Festival in Berlin and the Eight Bridges Festival in Cologne. The quartet has also received numerous prizes and awards for its work and recordings.

© Ruhrtriennale

powered by Peppered

Cookies

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen.

Mehr Infos OK, verstanden

Biographien UNIVERSE, INCOMPLETE

Christoph Marthaler, Regie

Titus Engel, Musikalische Leitung

Anna Viebrock, Bühne & Kostüm

Andreas (Phoenix) Hofer, Licht

Bochumer Symphoniker

The Rhetoric Project

Schlagquartett Köln

 

Christoph Marthaler,

geboren 1951 in Erlenbach bei Zürich, war in den Siebziger und Achtziger Jahren als Theatermusiker an verschiedenen deutschsprachigen Bühnen tätig und arbeitete von 1988 bis 1993 kontinuierlich am Theater Basel. Mit der Inszenierung Murx den Europäer! Murx ihn! Murx ihn! Murx ihn! Murx ihn ab! (Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz) aus dem Jahre 1993 wurde seine neuartige Theatersprache auch auf den deutschen Bühnen bekannt. Von 2000 bis 2004 war Marthaler Intendant des Schauspielhauses Zürich, das in dieser Zeit zweimal zum „Theater des Jahres“ gewählt wurde. Mehr als 15 Inszenierungen von Christoph Marthaler wurden zum Berliner Theatertreffen eingeladen, er erhielt zahlreiche Preise, darunter zuletzt den Goldenen Löwen der Biennale Venezia sowie den Zürcher Kunstpreis, und seine Inszenierungen werden weltweit auf renommierten Festivals präsentiert. Marthaler inszenierte auch an diversen Opernhäusern, u.a. in Paris, Zürich, Madrid und bei den Salzburger Festspielen.


Titus Engel

Offenheit für innovative Projekte und Konzertformate im Verbund mit einer technischen Präzision sondergleichen zeichnen Titus Engel als einen der führenden kreativen Köpfe unter den Dirigenten seiner Generation aus. Neben seiner Beschäftigung mit neuester Musik und sinfonischen Werken des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts hegt er eine große Leidenschaft für Barockmusik. Geboren 1975 in Zürich, studierte er Musikwissenschaften und Philosophie in Zürich und Berlin sowie Dirigieren in Dresden. Nachdem ihn Gerard Mortier 2011 ans Teatro Real einlud begann seine internationale Laufbahn, welche ihn u.a. an die Vlaamse Opera (Czernowin Infinite now , Uraufführung des Jahres 2017), die Staatsoper Stuttgart, die Staatsoper Hamburg, die Staatsoper Berlin, die Oper Frankfurt und das Theater Basel (Stockhausen Donnerstag aus Licht Aufführung des Jahres 2016, La Traviata 2017) führte. Im Konzertbereich hat er eine enge künstlerische Beziehung zu den Sinfonieorchestern des SWR und des WDR, sowie zum Klangforum Wien.


Anna Viebrock,

geboren 1951 in Köln, studierte Bühnenbild bei Karl Kneidl an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Christoph Marthaler führte sie an zahlreiche internationale Schauspiel- und Opernhäuser, bis Sommer 2004 war sie im Leitungsteam des Schauspielhaus Zürich tätig. Seit 1994 erarbeitet sie außerdem mit dem Regieteam Jossi Wieler/Sergio Morabito Operninszenierungen. Seit 2002 arbeitet Anna Viebrock auch selbst als Regisseurin, so inszenierte sie für die Staatsoper Hannover, die Opéra de Paris, die Staatsoper Stuttgart, das Schauspielhaus Zürich, das Theater Basel und das Schauspiel Köln. Insgesamt 16 Mal wurde ihr die Auszeichnung „Bühnenbildnerin des Jahres“ und „Kostümbildnerin des Jahres“ zuerkannt. Ausstellungen ihrer Bühnenbildmodelle wurden in Rotterdam, Prag, Frankfurt, Madrid, Brüssel, Gent, Avignon, Helsinki, Basel und Giessen gezeigt. Das Land Hessen ehrte sie 1997 mit dem Hessischen Kulturpreis, 2004 wurde sie mit dem Theaterpreis Berlin und 2013 mit dem Hein-Heckroth-Preis ausgezeichnet. Anna Viebrock ist Professorin an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien.

Andreas (Phoenix) Hofer,

geboren 1971 in Wien, studierte technische Chemie in Linz. Anfängliche Beleuchtungstätigkeiten im Posthof Linz führten ihn zu den Wiener Festwochen und den Salzburger Festspielen, wo er seit 1997 bis heute unzählige Produktionen begleitet. Für diverse Tanzproduktionen der freien Szene übernahm er von 2002 an das Lichtdesign, seit 2005 gestaltete er für viele Produktionen von Christoph Marthaler das Licht. Bei den Bregenzer Festspielen 2015 war er bei der Produktion Hoffmanns Erzählungen unter der Regie von Stefan Herheim für das Lichtdesign verantwortlich. Aus dieser Zusammenarbeit folgten mehrere gemeinsame Projekte in Hamburg, Paris, Oslo, Kopenhagen, Lyon und Berlin. Weitere Arbeiten fanden statt in Wien, Avignon, Berlin und Köln. Seit 2013 lehrt er außerdem in der Szenographie-Klasse der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien die Grundlagen der Lichtgestaltung und -technik.

Bochumer Symphoniker

Die 1919 gegründeten Bochumer Symphoniker haben sich im Laufe ihrer Geschichte zu einem der wichtigsten Konzertklangkörper im Westen Deutschlands entwickelt. Seit Steven Sloane 1994 ihr Generalmusikdirektor wurde, wurden sie schon zweimal mit der begehrten Auszeichnung für „Das beste Konzertprogramm” ausgezeichnet. Auch international hat sich das Orchester bereits einen Namen gemacht. Sie reisten nach Israel, Österreich, Estland sowie in die USA und haben regelmäßige Auftritte im Amsterdamer Concertgebouw und bei der Ruhrtriennale. Die Bochumer Symphoniker sind auch immer wieder in ungewöhnliche, spartenübergreifende Projekte eingebunden: Mehrfach spielten sie mit Herbert Grönemeyer, spielten als Stadionorchester „auf Schalke“ in Gelsenkirchen mit über 65.000 Sänger*innen, sowie mit Jethro-Tull-Frontmann Ian Anderson und mit der legendären a-capella-Formation Take Six, sie begleiteten den britischen Weltstar Sting auf sieben Stationen in Deutschland und der Schweiz und traten in der Harald Schmidt Show auf. Außerdem machten sie sich durch zahlreiche mehrfach ausgezeichnete CD-Einspielungen einen Namen.

 

The Rhetoric Project

verbindet die Vorteile der Ensemblekultur mit der Lust, verschieden Musikstile auf höchstem Niveau zu mischen. Rhetoric Project ist ein Konglomerat von Musiker*innen um den Dirigenten Titus Engel, die ebenso in kammermusikalischer wie in orchestraler Formation auftreten. Ihr Repertoire reicht von Alter Musik bis zu zeitgenössischer Musik und Improvisation. Im Zentrum steht die Verbindung von historischer Fundiertheit mit zeitgenössischer Offenheit und performativer Energie. The Rhetoric Project ist keine feste Formation mit routinierten Positionen, sondern wird je nach Anforderungen des Projektes aus einem Pool von Musiker*innen zusammengestellt, der aus internationalen Solist*innen, Mitgliedern von Spezialensembles, sowie Musiker*innenn aus Spitzenorchestern besteht.

 

Schlagquartett Köln

Seit das Schlagquartett Köln 1989 sein Debüt gab, steht es für die bahnbrechende Entwicklung des Schlaginstrumentariums im 20. Jahrhundert. Neben der Pflege des stark angewachsenen Repertoires an Schlagzeugmusik konzentriert sich das Schlagquartett auf Uraufführungen. Sowohl unter den Laborbedingungen der Quartettformation als auch in Kooperation mit anderen Klangkörpern weiten die vier Musiker*innen den Horizont in der Welt der Schlaginstrumente. Das Schlagquartett Köln erzielte große Erfolge und weltweites Renommee mit Konzertreisen, Rundfunkaufzeichnungen, CD-Einspielungen und Musiktheaterproduktionen. Sie waren u.a. zu Gast bei den Berliner Festwochen, den Wittener Tagen für Neue Kammermusik, bei musica viva in München, beim Ilkhom Festival in Usbekistan, beim Eclat-Festival Stuttgart, beim Warschauer Herbst und dem Transit Festival in Leuven, beim Ultraschall Festival in Berlin und beim Acht Brücken Festival in Köln. Außerdem wurde das Quartett für seine Arbeit und seine Einspielungen mit zahlreichen Preisen bedacht

© Ruhrtriennale

powered by Peppered

Cookies

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen.

Mehr Infos OK, verstanden