Music Theatre / Dance / Visual Arts

The Head & The Load

William Kentridge, Philip Miller, Thuthuka Sibisi, Gregory Maqoma, The Knights
9 aug

12 aug
Dates & tickets
  • thu 9 aug
    20:00 – 21:30
    First performance
    Landschaftspark, Duisburg-Nord
    Kraftzentrale
    Past event
  • fri 10 aug
    20:00 – 21:30
    Performance
    Landschaftspark, Duisburg-Nord
    Kraftzentrale
    Past event
  • sat 11 aug
    20:00 – 21:30
    Performance
    Landschaftspark, Duisburg-Nord
    Kraftzentrale
    Past event
  • sun 12 aug
    15:00 – 16:30
    Performance
    Landschaftspark, Duisburg-Nord
    Kraftzentrale
    Past event
More performance dates

“The head and the load are a trouble for the neck”, is a traditional Ghanaian proverb that William Kentridge has borrowed for the title of his latest work: a visual, musical and choreographic examination of Africa’s role in the First World War.

Over 2 million people from the African continent – most of them forced to work as bearers of weapons and materials for the colonial powers – went away to this European war. William Kentridge investigates this neglected and barely researched chapter in European and African history in a work of music theatre that is both installation and performance. The artist brings together a new composition by Philip Miller, the New York orchestral collective The Knights, an international company of performers, dancers and singers, a chorus of mechanical gramophones, overlapping film projections and shadow puppetry in a gigantic procession that defies all generic classification and could not be shown in a traditional theatre space.

From the date of his earliest animated films and drawings the Johannesburg-born artist William Kentridge has confronted unjust social and ethnic conflicts in both South Africa and Europe. Apartheid and the consequences of apartheid, together with more general colonialism, racism and totalitarianism have been and still are his themes, both in the visual arts and in his theatre and opera work. The upset caused by underlying social and ethnic injustice is a painful driver behind the personal lyrical visualization that Kentridge achieves in drawings, sculptures, films, installations, theatre and opera.

Kentridge’s works have been exhibited in museums and exhibitions on every continent. He has taken part in the Venice Biennale and documenta in Kassel on numerous occasions. The Head and the Load in the Kraftzentrale in Duisburg is the first time that this world-famous artist has been represented in the programme of the Ruhrtriennale.

www.theheadandtheload.com


BIOGRAPHIES

EVENING PROGRAMME

 

(c) Ursula Kaufmann
(c) Ursula Kaufmann
(c) Ursula Kaufmann
(c) Ursula Kaufmann
(c) Ursula Kaufmann
(c) Ursula Kaufmann
(c) Ursula Kaufmann
(c) Ursula Kaufmann
Sculpture, song, shadow play; William Kentridge’s performance work about Africans in the First World War is an electrifying collage of imagery and ideas.
The Independent, Zoë Anderson

Cast

Concept and Direction William Kentridge
Composer Philip Miller
Musical direction Thuthuka Sibisi
Co-Komposition Thuthuka Sibisi
Projection Design Catherine Meyburgh
Choreography Gregory Maqoma
Costume Design Greta Goiris
Stage design Sabine Theunissen
Light Urs Schönebaum
Sound design Mark Grey
Video Editing and Compositing Janus Fouché, Žana Marović, Catherine Meyburgh
Associate Director Luc De Wit
Chris Waldo de Wet
Video Orchestration Kim Gunning
Cinematography Duško Marović
Orchestration Michael P. Atkinson, Philip Miller
Created with and performed by
With Mncedisi Shabangu, Hamilton Dhlamini, Nhlanhla Mahlangu, Luc De Wit
Featured Vocalist & Performers Joanna Dudley, Nhlanhla Mahlangu, Ann Masina, Bham Ntabeni, Sipho Seroto, N'faly Kouyate, Tlale Makhene, Vincenzo Pasquariello
Dancer Gregory Maqoma, Julia Zenzie Burnham, Thulani Chauke, Xolani Dlamini, Nhlanhla Mahlangu
Ensemble Vocalists Mhlaba Buthelezi, Ayanda Eleki, Grace Magubane, Blaise Malaba, Ncokwane Lydia Manyama, Caroline Modiba, Tshegofatso Moeng, Mapule Moloi, Lindokuhle Thabede
The Knights Michael P. Atkinson, Sam Budish (Percussion), Logan Coale (Bass), Christina Courtin (Violin), Samuel Ewens (Trumpet), Mario Gotoh (Viola), Nicolas Jones (Trombone), Andy Kershaw (Tuba), Nathan Koci (Accordion), Alex Sopp (Flute), Jon Stokes (Trombone), Caitlin Sullivan (Cello)

Introduction And Further Information

Introduction 45 minutes prior to show

 

Artist talk 10th of August after the performance

 

Commissioned by Ruhrtriennale, Park Avenue Armory and 14—18 NOW, the UK’s arts program for the First World War Centenary. With additional support from the Holland Festival and with kind assistance of Marian Goodman Gallery, Goodman Gallery and Lia Rumma. Produced by THE OFFICE performing arts + film in association with Quaternaire. Developed at MASS MoCA, North Adams, 2018, and Kentridge Studios, Johannesburg 2017-2018.

 

Language information: English, French, Italian, Shangaan, Shona, Zulu, Pedi, Xhosa, Wolof, Madinga and Swahili with German Translations

 

© Ruhrtriennale

powered by Peppered

Cookies

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen.

Mehr Infos OK, verstanden

Musiktheater / Tanz / Bildende Kunst

The Head & The Load

William Kentridge, Philip Miller, Thuthuka Sibisi, Gregory Maqoma, The Knights
9 aug

12 aug
Termine & Tickets
  • do 9 aug
    20:00 – 21:30
    Premiere
    Landschaftspark, Duisburg-Nord
    Kraftzentrale
    Gewesen
  • fr 10 aug
    20:00 – 21:30
    Veranstaltung
    Landschaftspark, Duisburg-Nord
    Kraftzentrale
    Gewesen
  • sa 11 aug
    20:00 – 21:30
    Veranstaltung
    Landschaftspark, Duisburg-Nord
    Kraftzentrale
    Gewesen
  • so 12 aug
    15:00 – 16:30
    Veranstaltung
    Landschaftspark, Duisburg-Nord
    Kraftzentrale
    Gewesen
Mehr Vorstellungstermine

„The head and the load are a trouble for the neck“ / „Des Nackens Leid sind Kopf und Last“, sagt ein altes Sprichwort aus Ghana, von dem William Kentridge den Titel für seine neue Kreation borgt, die sich visuell, musikalisch und choreographisch mit der Rolle Afrikas im Ersten Weltkrieg beschäftigt.

Über 2 Millionen Menschen aus dem afrikanischen Kontinent wurden, meist als Träger von Waffen und Material, von den Kolonialmächten gezwungen, in den europäischen Krieg zu ziehen. Diesen verschwiegenen und kaum erforschten Teil europäischer und afrikanischer Geschichte erkundet William Kentridge in einer installativen und szenischen Musiktheaterarbeit. Der Künstler verbindet eine Neukomposition von Philip Miller, die New Yorker Orchesterformation The Knights, ein internationales Ensemble von Performer*innen, Tänzer*innen und Sänger*innen, einen Chor mechanisierter Grammophone, sich überschneidende Filmprojektionen und Schattenspiel zu einer gigantischen Prozession, die jeder Genrezuweisung widerstrebt und die in einem traditionellen Theaterraum nicht gezeigt werden könnte.

Schon seit seinen frühen Animationsfilmen und Zeichnungen hat sich der aus Johannesburg stammende Künstler William Kentridge mit den sozialen und ethnischen Unrechtskonflikten in Südafrika und Europa auseinander gesetzt. Die Apartheid und die Folgen der Apartheid sowie allgemeiner: Kolonialismus, Rassismus und Totalitarismus waren und sind seine Themen in der Bildenden Kunst wie in seinen Theater- und Opernarbeiten. Die Verstörung durch das grundsätzliche soziale und ethnische Unrecht ist ein schmerzhafter Antrieb für eine eigene lyrische Visualisierung, die William Kentridge in Zeichnungen, Skulpturen, Filmen, Installationen, Theater und Oper umsetzt.

 

Kentridges Werke werden auf allen Kontinenten in Museen und Ausstellungen gezeigt, mehrfach hat er an der Biennale von Venedig und an der Kasseler documenta teilgenommen. Im Duisburger Lehmbruck Museum ist bis zum 7. Oktober 2018 William Kentridge's Arbeit Mine, 1991, in der Ausstellung Reichtum: Schwarz ist Gold zu sehen. Das Museum hat Sonderöffnungszeiten an den Aufführungstagen und Sonderkonditionen für Besucher der Ruhrtriennale Inszenierung. Informationen: www.lehmbruckmuseum.de 

 Mit The Head and the Load in der Duisburger Kraftzentrale ist dieser weltberühmte Künstler erstmals im Programm der Ruhrtriennale vertreten.


BIOGRAPHIEN

ABENDPROGRAMM ZUM RUNTERLADEN

 

(c) Ursula Kaufmann
(c) Ursula Kaufmann
(c) Ursula Kaufmann
(c) Ursula Kaufmann
(c) Ursula Kaufmann
(c) Ursula Kaufmann
(c) Ursula Kaufmann
(c) Ursula Kaufmann
Skulpturen, Musik und Schattenspiel; William Kentridges Arbeit über die Rolle Afrikas im Ersten Weltkrieg ist eine elektrisierende Collage aus Symbolik und Ideen.
The Independent, Zoë Anderson

Besetzung

Konzept und Regie William Kentridge
Komposition Philip Miller
Musikalische Leitung Thuthuka Sibisi
Co-Komposition Thuthuka Sibisi
Projektionen Catherine Meyburgh
Choreographie Gregory Maqoma
Kostüm Greta Goiris
Bühne Sabine Theunissen
Licht Urs Schönebaum
Sounddesign Mark Grey
Video Janus Fouché
Video Žana Marović, Catherine Meyburgh
Regiemitarbeit Luc De Wit
Technischer Leiter Ateliers Chris Waldo de Wet
Video Orchestration Kim Gunning
Kinematografie Duško Marović
Orchesterfassung Michael P. Atkinson, Philip Miller
Von und mit
Mit Mncedisi Shabangu, Hamilton Dhlamini, Nhlanhla Mahlangu, Luc De Wit
Vokalist & Performer Joanna Dudley, Nhlanhla Mahlangu, Ann Masina, Bham Ntabeni, Sipho Seroto, N'faly Kouyate, Tlale Makhene, Vincenzo Pasquariello
Tänzer Gregory Maqoma, Julia Zenzie Burnham, Thulani Chauke, Xolani Dlamini, Nhlanhla Mahlangu
Vokalensemble Mhlaba Buthelezi, Ayanda Eleki, Grace Magubane, Blaise Malaba, Ncokwane Lydia Manyama, Caroline Modiba, Tshegofatso Moeng, Mapule Moloi, Lindokuhle Thabede
The Knights Michael P. Atkinson, Sam Budish (Percussion), Logan Coale (Bass), Christina Courtin (Violin), Samuel Ewens (Trumpet), Mario Gotoh (Viola), Nicolas Jones (Trombone), Andy Kershaw (Tuba), Nathan Koci (Accordion), Alex Sopp (Flute), Jon Stokes (Trombone), Caitlin Sullivan (Cello)

Einführung und besondere Informationen

Einführung jeweils 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn

 

Künstler*innengespräch am 10. August im Anschluss an die Vorstellung

 

Ein Auftragswerk der Ruhrtriennale, Park Avenue Armory und 14-18 NOW, the UK’s arts program for the First World War Centenary. Mit Förderung des Holland Festival und freundlicher Unterstützung der Marian Goodman Gallery, der Goodman Gallery und Lia Rumma. Produziert von THE OFFICE performing arts + film in Zusammenarbeit mit Quarternaire. Entwickelt im MASS MoCA, North Adams, 2018, und Kentridge Studios, Johannesburg 2017-2018.

 

Sprachinformation: Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch, Shangaan, Shona, Zulu, Pedi, Xhosa, Wolof, Madinga und Swahili mit deutschen Übersetzungen

 

Biografien Biographies (2)

William Kentridge

Konzept und Regie

Philip Miller

Komposition

© Ruhrtriennale

powered by Peppered

Cookies

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen.

Mehr Infos OK, verstanden