© Courtesy Julius von Bismarck
Thu 10 Sep Sun 20 Sep
INSTALLATION

Polizei (OMOH)

JULIUS VON BISMARCK
10 Sep
20 Sep

Berlin-based artist Julius von Bismarck discovered art through observations of natural phenomena and an interest in technology. His works are based on research in various scientific disciplines and in many ways they resemble experiments themselves. Independence and conducting oneself with integrity are considered the cornerstones of a liberal and democratic society. Von Bismarck’s experimental and often provocative arrangements question what significance such values actually have.

He first rose to prominence in 2007 by inventing the Image Fulgurator, a form of exposure pistol that could be used to shoot images into other photographs at the moment they were taken. As part of the symposium The Boundaries of Freedom – Art production between political influence, digital hysteria and self-censorship von Bismarck will present a performative installation at the Jahrhunderthalle. The work destabilises a way of looking at things influenced in advance by history, vocabulary and habit, one that exists both in science and in art. It demands that we test our own perceptions and the categories we divide the world into.

Foyer der Jahrhunderthalle
An der Jahrhunderthalle 1
44793 Bochum

 
Open one hour before performance start for performances in the Jahrhunderthalle, and from 12th – 20th Sept from 14.00 – 17.00.

Further Information

A project by Urbane Künste Ruhr for Ruhrtriennale.

Cast

Installation Julius von Bismarck
Curation Britta Peters

Cookies

We use cookies on our site to enable basic website functions and to improve our online service. We also use cookies to collect anonymous statistics. If you do not agree with the use of cookies, you can make adjustments by clicking the "Settings" button. All settings can be changed and withdrawn from at any time at ruhr3.com/datenschutz. More information…

Information about the cookies used on this website can be found under "Settings"

Cookie settings

© Courtesy Julius von Bismarck
Do 10 Sep So 20 Sep
INSTALLATION

Polizei (OMOH)

JULIUS VON BISMARCK
10 Sep
20 Sep

Der Berliner Künstler Julius von Bismarck kam über die Beobachtung von Naturphänomenen und sein Interesse für Technologie zur Kunst. Seinen Arbeiten geht eine Recherche in verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen voraus, sie gleichen häufig selbst Versuchsanordnungen. Unabhängigkeit und integres Handeln gelten als Grundpfeiler der freiheitlich-demokratischen Gesellschaft. Von Bismarcks experimentelle, oft provokante Arrangements hinterfragen, welchen Stellenwert diese Werte tatsächlich haben.

Bekannt wurde er 2007 durch die Erfindung des Image Fulgurators, eine Art Belichtungspistole, mit der sich im Moment des Fotografierens Motive in andere Fotografien einschießen lassen. Im Rahmen des Symposiums Die Grenzen der Freiheit – Kunstproduktion zwischen politischer Einflussnahme, digitaler Hysterie und Selbstzensur wird von Bismarck nun eine performative Installation auf dem Gelände der Jahrhunderthalle zeigen. Die Arbeit bringt einen durch Geschichte, Vokabular und Gewohnheiten vorgeprägten Blick auf die Dinge, der sowohl in der Wissenschaft als auch in der Kunst existiert, ins Wanken. Sie fordert dazu auf, die eigene Wahrnehmung und Kategorien, in die wir die Welt einordnen, auf den Prüfstand zu stellen.

Foyer der Jahrhunderthalle 
An der Jahrhunderthalle 1
44793 Bochum

 
Geöffnet eine Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn bei Vorstellungen in der Jahrhunderthalle, sowie vom 12. – 20. Sept jeweils von 14 – 17 Uhr.

Weitere Informationen

Ein Projekt von Urbane Künste Ruhr für die Ruhrtriennale.

Besetzung

Installation Julius von Bismarck
Kuration Britta Peters

Cookies

Wir setzen auf unserer Seite Cookies ein, um Grundfunktionen der Website zu ermöglichen und unser Onlineangebot zu verbessern. Außerdem nutzen wir Cookies zur Erhebung anonymer Statistiken. Wenn Sie mit der Nutzung von Cookies nicht einverstanden sind, können Sie über den Button "Einstellungen" Anpassungen vornehmen. Alle Einstellungen können unter ruhr3.com/datenschutz jederzeit geändert und widerrufen werden. Weitere Informationen…

Informationen zu den Cookies, die auf dieser Website genutzt werden, finden Sie unter "Einstellungen"

Cookie-Einstellungen