(c) Walter Mair
Thu 30 Aug Sun 2 Sep
Theatre

Bekannte Gefühle, gemischte Gesichter

Christoph Marthaler, Anna Viebrock
30 Aug
2 Sep

This evening entitled Bekannte Gefühle, gemischte Gesichter (Familiar Feelings, Mixed Faces) was created to mark Christoph Marthaler’s personal farewell to the Castorf Era at Berlin’s Volksbühne. It uses many songs and few words to produce a meditation on transience in the theatre and what happens to artists as they are used up: what do sell by dates mean? What do freezes and endless repetitions lead to? And how do organizational aspects and art impact on each other?

At the same time the evening is a staged exhibition of actors and episodes from a variety of Christoph Marthaler’s Volksbühne produc-tions and a collage of vocal and other music by composers including Handel, Satie, Mahler and Schubert.

In the museum space designed by Anna Viebrock (modelled on the Kunstmuseum in Basel) a delivery of transport crates containing art exhibits is opened and unpacked by one of the museum’s employees. The objects the crates contain turn out to be the performers who have helped to devise and perform Marthaler’s many productions. Now they are put on pedestals as exhibits. Of course they don’t stay there. Instead – while trying to find an exit – they start inventing their own world of nonsense, memories, eccentric melancholy, joy and music, leading in the end to a single word of farewell: “Danke” (Thank you).

Further Information

Introduction 45 minutes prior to show

A takeover of the Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz by the Ruhrtriennale in cooperation with the Musiktheater im Revier Gelsenkirchen.

Language information: German with English surtitles.

Cast

Director Christoph Marthaler
Stage Design, Costume Anna Viebrock
Dramaturgy Malte Ubenauf Stefanie Carp
Musical Production Tora Augestad Bendix Dethleffsen Jürg Kienberger
Light Design Johannes Zotz
Sound Design Klaus Dobbrick
With Hildegard Alex Marc Bodnar Magne-Håvard Brekke Raphael Clamer Altea Garrido Olivia Grigolli Ueli Jäggi Ulrich Voß Nikola Weisse

Cookies

We use cookies on our site to enable basic website functions and to improve our online service. We also use cookies to collect anonymous statistics. If you do not agree with the use of cookies, you can make adjustments by clicking the "Settings" button. All settings can be changed and withdrawn from at any time at ruhr3.com/datenschutz. More information…

Information about the cookies used on this website can be found under "Settings"

Cookie settings

(c) Walter Mair
Do 30 Aug So 2 Sep
Schauspiel

Bekannte Gefühle, gemischte Gesichter

Christoph Marthaler, Anna Viebrock
30 Aug
2 Sep

Anlass für diesen Abend mit dem Titel Bekannte Gefühle, gemischte Gesichter war Christoph Marthalers persönlicher Abschied von der Castorf-Ära an der Berliner Volksbühne. Mit vielen Liedern und wenigen Worten ist daraus ein Nachdenken über Vergänglichkeit im Theater geworden und darüber, was Künstler*innen im Laufe ihrer ‚Verwertung‘ wiederfährt: Was bedeuten Verfallsdaten? Wozu führen Erstarrungen und ewige Wiederholungen? Wie verhalten sich das Betriebhafte und die Kunst zueinander?

Gleichzeitig ist der Abend eine szenische Ausstellung von Spieler*innen und Episoden aus unterschiedlichen Volksbühnen-Inszenierungen von Christoph Marthaler und eine Collage aus Liedern und Musik u. a. von Händel, Satie, Mahler und Schubert.

In dem von Anna Viebrock entworfenen Raum eines Museums (Vorbild war das Kunstmuseum in Basel) werden Transportkisten eines Kunstversands angeliefert und von einem Angestellten des Museums geöffnet und ausgepackt. Die Objekte in den Kisten sind die Darsteller*innen, die viele Marthaler-Inszenierungen mit kreiert und gespielt haben. Nun werden sie als Ausstellungsobjekte auf Podeste gestellt. Natürlich bleiben sie dort nicht stehen, sondern sie beginnen – auf der Suche nach Auswegen –, ihre sehr eigene Welt aus hemmungslosem Blödsinn, Erinnerung, exzentrischer Wehmut, Glück und Musik zu erfinden, die am Ende zu dem kurzen Abschiedswort „Danke“ führt.

Weitere Informationen

Einführung jeweils 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn

Eine Übernahme von der Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz durch die Ruhrtriennale in Kooperation mit dem Musiktheater im Revier Gelsenkirchen.

Sprachinformation: Deutsch mit englischen Übertiteln.

Besetzung

Regie Christoph Marthaler
Bühne, Kostüm Anna Viebrock
Dramaturgie Malte Ubenauf Stefanie Carp
Musikalische Einstudierung Tora Augestad Bendix Dethleffsen Jürg Kienberger
Licht Johannes Zotz
Ton Klaus Dobbrick
Mit Hildegard Alex Marc Bodnar Magne-Håvard Brekke Raphael Clamer Altea Garrido Olivia Grigolli Ueli Jäggi Ulrich Voß Nikola Weisse

Cookies

Wir setzen auf unserer Seite Cookies ein, um Grundfunktionen der Website zu ermöglichen und unser Onlineangebot zu verbessern. Außerdem nutzen wir Cookies zur Erhebung anonymer Statistiken. Wenn Sie mit der Nutzung von Cookies nicht einverstanden sind, können Sie über den Button "Einstellungen" Anpassungen vornehmen. Alle Einstellungen können unter ruhr3.com/datenschutz jederzeit geändert und widerrufen werden. Weitere Informationen…

Informationen zu den Cookies, die auf dieser Website genutzt werden, finden Sie unter "Einstellungen"

Cookie-Einstellungen