© Yasuyuki Emori
Sun 16 Aug Sat 22 Aug
URBAN PROJECT / DANCE / MUSIC / WORKSHOP

Hip-Hop Academy

AKIRA TAKAYAMA
16 Aug
22 Aug

15 Hip-hoppers, seven days, one academy. The Japanese theatre artist Akira Takayama sees rappers as the poets of the present. For the Ruhrtriennale 2020 he will found a Hip-Hop Academy in Bochum with a masterclass in the disciplines of rap, dance, graffiti and DJ-ing. The public will be able to follow how a group of young street artists from the Ruhr region rap, discuss and battle with each other.

How can we consider situations in our lives from other perspectives? Has our ability to do this already degenerated? Has it been taken away from us? The masterclass will attempt to recover these faculties and turn rehearsals for the Hip Hop Academy into a celebration.

The timetable includes workshops, lectures and actions in the city and at the Third Space on the square in front of the Jahrhunderthalle. Public spaces become both a stage and an academy as a temporary community is formed. The project will focus on shared critical learning, negotiating rules for urban cohabitation and the traditions of hip-hop.

The rehearsals, just like the battle finale on the closing day, are themselves performances where the public is welcome at any time.

 

Programme

The detailed programme with details of lectures, workshops, battles and information on the Open Call for the audition will be announced very soon.


The Hip-Hop Academy will take place from 16th –  19th Aug at the Third Space and from 20th –  22nd Aug in the city centre of Bochum.

Stadtraum Bochum und Third Space

 

Audition
Sun 16th Aug 16.00 Uhr

 

Academy
17th Aug – 22th Aug

More at this location:
Third Space

Further Information

Funded by Stiftung der Sparkasse Bochum zur Förderung von Kultur und Wissenschaft.

Cast

Artistic Direction Akira Takayama
Projectcoordination Tatsuki Hayashi

Cookies

We use cookies on our site to enable basic website functions and to improve our online service. We also use cookies to collect anonymous statistics. If you do not agree with the use of cookies, you can make adjustments by clicking the "Settings" button. All settings can be changed and withdrawn from at any time at ruhr3.com/datenschutz. More information…

Information about the cookies used on this website can be found under "Settings"

Cookie settings

© Yasuyuki Emori
So 16 Aug Sa 22 Aug
STADTPROJEKT / TANZ / MUSIK / WORKSHOP

Hip-Hop Academy

AKIRA TAKAYAMA
16 Aug
22 Aug

15 Hip-Hopper*innen, sieben Tage, eine Akademie. Der japanische Theaterkünstler Akira Takayama sieht in Rapper*innen die Dichter*innen der Gegenwart. Für die Ruhrtriennale 2020 gründet er in Bochum eine Hip-Hop Academy mit einer Masterclass in den Disziplinen Rap, Tanz, Graffiti und DJ-ing. Das Publikum erlebt, wie eine Gruppe junger Streetart-Künstler*innen aus der Region rappen, diskutieren und sich battlen.

Wie können wir Situationen unseres Lebens aus anderen Perspektiven betrachten? Sind unsere Fähigkeiten dazu schon degeneriert, wurden sie uns genommen? Die Masterclass unternimmt den Versuch, diese Fähigkeiten zurückzuerobern und macht aus den Proben ihrer Hip-Hop Academy ein Fest.

Auf dem Stundenplan stehen Workshops, Lectures und Aktionen im Stadtraum sowie im Third Space auf dem Vorplatz der Jahrhunderthalle. Der öffentliche Raum wird Bühne und Akademie zugleich, eine temporäre Gemeinschaft entsteht. Im Fokus stehen das gemeinsame, kritische Lernen, das Aushandeln der Regeln für ein urbanes Zusammenleben und die Traditionen des Hip-Hops.

Die Proben, wie auch das Abschlussbattle am letzten Tag, werden zur Aufführung, zu der das Publikum jederzeit willkommen ist.

 

Programm

Das detaillierte Programm mit Angaben zu Lectures, Workshops, Battles und Infos zum Open Call für die Audtion werden zeitnah bekannt gegeben.

Die Hip-Hop Academy wird vom 16. – 19. Aug im Third Space und vom 20. – 22. Aug in der Bochumer Innenstadt stattfinden.

Stadtraum Bochum und Third Space

 

Audition
So 16. Aug 16.00 Uhr

 

Academy
17. Aug – 22. Aug

Mehr an diesem Ort:
Third Space

Besetzung

Künstlerische Leitung Akira Takayama
Projektkoordination Tatsuki Hayashi

Cookies

Wir setzen auf unserer Seite Cookies ein, um Grundfunktionen der Website zu ermöglichen und unser Onlineangebot zu verbessern. Außerdem nutzen wir Cookies zur Erhebung anonymer Statistiken. Wenn Sie mit der Nutzung von Cookies nicht einverstanden sind, können Sie über den Button "Einstellungen" Anpassungen vornehmen. Alle Einstellungen können unter ruhr3.com/datenschutz jederzeit geändert und widerrufen werden.