© Ian Douglas
Fri 21 Aug Sun 23 Aug
DANCE / PERFORMATIVE LIVE-ALBUM

#PUNK 100% POP *N!GGA

nora chipaumire
21 Aug
23 Aug

We use cookies to play media on Youtube, Vimeo, Soundcloud and Spotify. Additionally, we use zoho forms to enable you to register for certain productions and Mailchimp to subscribe to various newsletters. Please agree to the use of cookies in order to view this content. More information…

Information about the cookies used on this website can be found under "Settings"

Cookie settings

“A kind of rock star of dance” is how The New Yorker magazine described the choreographer nora chipaumire. Her works focus with energetic urgency and an incomparable aesthetic on racial discrimination and the exotic stereotypes ascribed to people from African countries. The artist, who was born in Mutare (Zimbabwe) and now lives in New York, weaves together personal experiences with cultural and social phenomena from the worlds where she has lived.

nora chipaumire’s trilogy #PUNK 100% POP *N!GGA is a performance live album in three tracks. Channelling three of her musical heroes – Patti Smith, Grace Jones and Rit Nzele – each section explores a different musical style and its underlying ideology. Energetic, provocative and powerful, #PUNK 100% POP *N!GGA invites the audience to break down boundaries and find a new kind of togetherness.

Note

Parts 1 and 2 of the event are unseated!

PACT Zollverein
Bullmannaue 20A
45327 Essen

More at this location:
PACT Zollverein, Essen

Further Information

Introduction 45 minutes prior to show.

Hosted by PACT Zollverein for the Ruhrtriennale. Coproduced by The Kitchen (New York), Crossing the Line Festival (New York), Quick Center for the Arts at Fairfield University. Supported by Fondation d’entreprise Hermès within the framework of the New Settings Program (100%POP), Guggenheim Foundation, Institute for Creative Arts der University of Cape Town, Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation, American Dance Abroad.

Language information: In English, Shona, French and other languages.

Cast

Concept, Choreography, Text, Light, Costumes nora chipaumire
Sound Antoni Mantorski-Barczuk
Technical management Heidi Eckwall
Stage Design Ari Marcopoulos Kara Walker Matt Jackson
International Management Thomas O. Kriegsmann / ArKtype
Company Management Leonie Wichmann
Performance Shamar Watt David Gagliardi Atiyyah Khan Kris Lee

Further Information

Cookies

We use cookies on our site to enable basic website functions and to improve our online service. We also use cookies to collect anonymous statistics. If you do not agree with the use of cookies, you can make adjustments by clicking the "Settings" button. All settings can be changed and withdrawn from at any time at ruhr3.com/datenschutz. More information…

Information about the cookies used on this website can be found under "Settings"

Cookie settings

© Ian Douglas
Fr 21 Aug So 23 Aug
TANZ / PERFORMATIVES LIVE-ALBUM

#PUNK 100% POP *N!GGA

nora chipaumire
21 Aug
23 Aug

Wir nutzen Cookies zum Abspielen von Medien auf Youtube, Vimeo, Soundcloud und Spotify. Zusätzlich verwenden wir zoho forms, um Ihnen die Anmeldung zu bestimmten Produktionen zu ermöglichen, und Mailchimp zur Anmeldung diverser Newsletter. Bitte stimmen Sie dem Einsatz von Cookies zu, um diese Inhalte sehen zu können. Weitere Informationen…

Informationen zu den Cookies, die auf dieser Website genutzt werden, finden Sie unter "Einstellungen"

Cookie-Einstellungen

„Eine Art Rockstar des Tanzes“ schrieb das Magazin The New Yorker über die Choreografin nora chipaumire. Ihre Arbeiten thematisieren in energetischer Eindringlichkeit und unverwechselbarer Ästhetik rassistische Diskriminierung ebenso wie exotisierende, stereotype Vorstellungen von Menschen aus afrikanischen Ländern. Dabei verwebt die in Mutare (Simbabwe) geborene und in New York lebende Künstlerin biografische Erfahrungen mit den kulturellen und sozialen Phänomenen ihrer Lebenswelten.

Mit ihrem Triptychon #PUNK 100% POP *N!GGA bringt nora chipaumire ein performatives Live-Album in drei Tracks auf die Bühne. In Hommagen an drei Musikerinnen – Patti Smith, Grace Jones, Rit Nzele – setzt sich dabei jeder Teil mit einem anderen Musikstil und der ihm zugrundeliegenden Ideologie auseinander. Energetisch, provokativ und voller Kraft lädt #PUNK 100% POP *N!GGA das Publikum ein, Grenzen aufzuheben und Miteinander neu zu denken.

Hinweis

Die Teile 1 und 2 der Veranstaltung sind unbestuhlt!

PACT Zollverein
Bullmannaue 20A
45327 Essen

Mehr an diesem Ort:
PACT Zollverein, Essen

Weitere Informationen

Einführung jeweils 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn.

Veranstaltet von PACT Zollverein für die Ruhrtriennale in Koproduktion mit The Kitchen (New York), Crossing the Line Festival (New York), Quick Center for the Arts an der Fairfield University. Unterstützt durch Fondation d’entreprise Hermès im Rahmen des Programms New Settings (100%POP), Guggenheim Foundation, Institute for Creative Arts der University of Cape Town, Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation, American Dance Abroad.

Sprachinformation: Englisch, Shona, Französisch und andere Sprachen.

Besetzung

Konzept, Choreografie, Text, Licht, Kostüme nora chipaumire
Sound Antoni Mantorski-Barczuk
Technische Leitung Heidi Eckwall
Bühne Ari Marcopoulos Kara Walker Matt Jackson
Internationales Management Thomas O. Kriegsmann / ArKtype
Company Management Leonie Wichmann
Performance Shamar Watt David Gagliardi Atiyyah Khan Kris Lee

Weitere Informationen

Cookies

Wir setzen auf unserer Seite Cookies ein, um Grundfunktionen der Website zu ermöglichen und unser Onlineangebot zu verbessern. Außerdem nutzen wir Cookies zur Erhebung anonymer Statistiken. Wenn Sie mit der Nutzung von Cookies nicht einverstanden sind, können Sie über den Button "Einstellungen" Anpassungen vornehmen. Alle Einstellungen können unter ruhr3.com/datenschutz jederzeit geändert und widerrufen werden. Weitere Informationen…

Informationen zu den Cookies, die auf dieser Website genutzt werden, finden Sie unter "Einstellungen"

Cookie-Einstellungen