© Ute Langkafel
Thu 20 Aug Sat 22 Aug
THEATRE

Futureland

LOLA ARIAS
20 Aug
22 Aug

What makes teenager undertake a dangerous journey to an unknown land? What situation leads parents to send their own children away in order to save them? What does it tell about the society we live in that millions of children cross the borders risking their lives on journeys that last for months or years in search of a future?

According to asylum law, unaccompanied minor refugees cannot be deported. Until 18, they are safe. But what future have these young people got if they need to be afraid of growing up?

Futureland takes the form of a video game to tell the story of eight young people aged between 14 and 18 who have travelled to Germany on their own from Afghanistan, Syria, Somalia, Guinea and Bangladesh. They have come half way across the world on foot, by boat or hidden in lorries. Now they live in Germany surrounded by social workers, child protection services, guardians and other young people from a variety of cultures. They find themselves between cultures, caught between childhood and adulthood, between the past, the present and the future. And they have already experienced more than many of us will do in our entire lives.

Turbinenhalle an der Jahrhunderthalle Bochum
An der Jahrhunderthalle
44793 Bochum

More at this location:
Jahrhunderthalle Bochum

Further Information

Introduction 45 minutes prior to show.

Artist talk 21st of August after the performance.

Produced by Maxim Gorki Theater in co-production with Ruhrtriennale.

Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation.

Language information: German with English surtitles.

Cast

Direction, Text Lola Arias
Support Artistic Creation Bibiana Picado Mendes
Stage Design Dominic Huber
Music Santiago Blaum
Costume Design Tutia Schaad
Choreography Colette Sadler
Video Editing and Compositing Mikko Gaestel
3D Videoanimation Luis August Krawen
Dramaturgy Johanna Hömann Florian Malzacher
Recherche/Casting Hannah Baumann
With Ahmad Azrati Fabiya Bhuiyan Mamadou Allou Diallo Mohamed Haj Younis Bashar Kanan Sagal Odowa May Saada Sarah Safi

Cookies

We use cookies on our site to enable basic website functions and to improve our online service. We also use cookies to collect anonymous statistics. If you do not agree with the use of cookies, you can make adjustments by clicking the "Settings" button. All settings can be changed and withdrawn from at any time at ruhr3.com/datenschutz. More information…

Information about the cookies used on this website can be found under "Settings"

Cookie settings

© Ute Langkafel
Do 20 Aug Sa 22 Aug
SCHAUSPIEL

Futureland

LOLA ARIAS
20 Aug
22 Aug

Was bringt einen Teenager dazu, eine gefahrvolle Reise in ein unbekanntes Land anzutreten? Welche Situation führt Eltern dazu, ihr Kind in ein anderes, fernes Land zu schicken, um es in Sicherheit zu bringen? Und was sagt dies über die Welt, die Gesellschaft, in der wir leben, dass Millionen von Minderjährigen ihr Leben riskieren, auf der Suche nach einer Zukunft?

Laut Asylgesetz dürfen unbegleitete minderjährige Geflüchtete nicht abgeschoben werden. Bis zu ihrem 18. Lebensjahr sind sie sicher. Aber welche Zukunft haben junge Menschen, wenn sie sich davor fürchten müssen, erwachsen zu werden?

Futureland erzählt in Form eines Videospiels die Geschichte von acht Jugendlichen zwischen 14 und 18 Jahren, die alleine aus Afghanistan, Syrien, Somalia, Guinea, Bangladesch nach Deutschland gekommen sind. Sie haben die halbe Welt zu Fuß, mit dem Boot oder versteckt in einem Lastwagen durchquert und leben jetzt in Deutschland, umgeben von Sozialarbeiter*innen, Jugendamt, Vormündern und anderen Jugendlichen verschiedener Kulturen. Sie befinden sich zwischen den Kulturen, zwischen Kindheit und Erwachsensein, zwischen Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft. Und sie haben schon mehr erlebt, als viele von uns in ihrem ganzen Leben.

Turbinenhalle an der Jahrhunderthalle Bochum
An der Jahrhunderthalle
44793 Bochum

Mehr an diesem Ort:
Jahrhunderthalle Bochum

Weitere Informationen

Einführung jeweils 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn.

Künstler*innengespräch am 21. August im Anschluss an die Vorstellung.

Eine Produktion des Maxim Gorki Theater in Koproduktion mit der Ruhrtriennale.

Gefördert von der Kulturstiftung des Bundes. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Verein der Freunde und Förderer der Ruhrtriennale e.V. und Kemnader Kreis e.V.

Sprachinformation: Deutsch mit englischen Übertiteln.

Besetzung

Regie, Text Lola Arias
Künstlerische Mitarbeit Bibiana Picado Mendes
Bühne Dominic Huber
Musik Santiago Blaum
Kostüm Tutia Schaad
Choreografie Colette Sadler
Video Mikko Gaestel
3D Videoanimation Luis August Krawen
Dramaturgie Johanna Hömann Florian Malzacher
Mit Ahmad Azrati Fabiya Bhuiyan Mamadou Allou Diallo Mohamed Haj Younis Bashar Kanan Sagal Odowa May Saada Sarah Safi

Cookies

Wir setzen auf unserer Seite Cookies ein, um Grundfunktionen der Website zu ermöglichen und unser Onlineangebot zu verbessern. Außerdem nutzen wir Cookies zur Erhebung anonymer Statistiken. Wenn Sie mit der Nutzung von Cookies nicht einverstanden sind, können Sie über den Button "Einstellungen" Anpassungen vornehmen. Alle Einstellungen können unter ruhr3.com/datenschutz jederzeit geändert und widerrufen werden. Weitere Informationen…

Informationen zu den Cookies, die auf dieser Website genutzt werden, finden Sie unter "Einstellungen"

Cookie-Einstellungen