Wed 19 Aug 20:00
MASCHINENHAUSMUSIK 1 / CONCERT

Song Dreaming

SAADET TÜRKÖZ, MARTIN SCHÜTZ, LIONEL FRIEDLI
19 Aug
20:00
  • 19 Aug
    20:00
    First performance
    Maschinenhaus, Essen
    Maschinenhaus Essen
    not bookable

For many years the long-time Zurich resident, Kazakh-Turkish singer Saadet Türköz, together with cellist and improviser Martin Schütz and percussionist Lionel Friedli, both from Biel, have been playing a kind of “imaginary folklore” entitled Song Dreaming. In her improvisations Türköz is drawing on the wealth of archaic songs from the region from which she originates. Schütz improvises freely in his abstract and contemporary musical language. Friedli provides a rhythmic foundation with his versatile, subtly driving percussion.

This interplay imbues the abstract with archaic power and lends the archaic a contemporary complexity. A kind of “simulacra” are created: dream images in which times, motifs and myths intersect rather than succeeding each other in epochs. As a result this music is filled with a very special spirit and leads to a dark, ecstatic musical celebration!

Maschinenhaus Essen
Zeche Carl
Wilhelm-Nieswandt-Allee 100
45326 Essen

More at this location:
Maschinenhaus Essen

Further Information

Cookies

We use cookies on our site to enable basic website functions and to improve our online service. We also use cookies to collect anonymous statistics. If you do not agree with the use of cookies, you can make adjustments by clicking the "Settings" button. All settings can be changed and withdrawn from at any time at ruhr3.com/datenschutz. More information…

Information about the cookies used on this website can be found under "Settings"

Cookie settings

Mi 19 Aug 20:00
MASCHINENHAUSMUSIK 1 / KONZERT

Song Dreaming 3

SAADET TÜRKÖZ, MARTIN SCHÜTZ, LIONEL FRIEDLI
19 Aug
20:00
  • 19 Aug
    20:00
    Premiere
    Zeche Carl, Essen
    Maschinenhaus Essen
    fällt aus

Die seit langem in Zürich lebende kasachisch-turksprachige Sängerin Saadet Türköz, der Bieler Cellist Martin Schütz und der Bieler Schlagzeuger Lionel Friedli spielen unter dem Titel Song Dreaming seit vielen Jahren eine Art „folklore imaginaire“ im Trio. Während Türköz in der freien Improvisation immer wieder auf ihren reichen Fundus an archaischen Liedern aus ihrer Herkunftswelt zurückgreift, improvisiert Schütz frei und abstrakt. Friedli grundiert das rhythmisch durch sein vielseitiges, subtil treibendes Perkussionsspiel.

Dieses Zusammenwirken verleiht dem Abstrakten die Kraft des Archaischen und dem Archaischen die Komplexität des Zeitgenössischen. Es entstehen „Simulakren“: Traumbilder, in denen Zeiten, Motive und Mythen ineinanderfallen statt in Epochen aufeinander zu folgen. So wohnt dieser Musik ein besonderer Spirit inne und es entsteht ein dunkles, ekstatisches musikalisches Fest!

Maschinenhaus Essen
Zeche Carl
Wilhelm-Nieswandt-Allee 100
45326 Essen

Mehr an diesem Ort:
Maschinenhaus Essen

Besetzung

Gesang Saadet Türköz
Violoncello Martin Schütz
Schlagzeug Lionel Friedli

Weitere Informationen

Cookies

Wir setzen auf unserer Seite Cookies ein, um Grundfunktionen der Website zu ermöglichen und unser Onlineangebot zu verbessern. Außerdem nutzen wir Cookies zur Erhebung anonymer Statistiken. Wenn Sie mit der Nutzung von Cookies nicht einverstanden sind, können Sie über den Button "Einstellungen" Anpassungen vornehmen. Alle Einstellungen können unter ruhr3.com/datenschutz jederzeit geändert und widerrufen werden. Weitere Informationen…

Informationen zu den Cookies, die auf dieser Website genutzt werden, finden Sie unter "Einstellungen"

Cookie-Einstellungen