© Mark Wohlrabe
Sun 13 Sep 20:00
CONCERT

Bernd Alois Zimmermann / Allan Pettersson

MALMÖ OPERAORKESTER, STEVEN SLOANE
13 Sep
20:00
  • 13 Sep
    20:00
    Concert
    Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr, Bochum
    Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr
    cancelled

In his early works the Cologne composer Bernd Alois Zimmermann remained conceptually allied with Arnold Schönberg and Alban Berg and their music of densely intertwined themes and motifs in atonal and twelvetone form. His Symphony in One Movement, written in 1951, swung “in giant arcs, from apocalyptic menace to an immersion in mysticism,” as he put it. This highly expressive and dramatic music appears still to be haunted by the terrors of the Nazi period and the Second World War.

Sometimes referred to as “the Swedish Gustav Mahler”, Allan Pettersson follows an even more meditative course in his 7th Symphony, first performed in 1968: brooding repetitions, earthy ostinato rhythms and great melodic arcs in a – like Zimmermann’s, deeply religious – confessional music whose seemingly infinite stream of sound calls out to be heard in a deep, inner listening mode.

Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr
Marienplatz 1
44787 Bochum

Further Information

Introduction 45 minutes prior to show.

Bernd Alois Zimmermann: Sinfonie in einem Satz“ (1. Fassung von 1951) 18' Allan Patterson: 7. Sinfonie von v 1967 44’ Produced by Ruhrtriennale in co-operation with Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr.

Cast

Musical direction Steven Sloane
With Malmö Opera

Cookies

We use cookies on our site to enable basic website functions and to improve our online service. We also use cookies to collect anonymous statistics. If you do not agree with the use of cookies, you can make adjustments by clicking the "Settings" button. All settings can be changed and withdrawn from at any time at ruhr3.com/datenschutz. More information…

Information about the cookies used on this website can be found under "Settings"

Cookie settings

© Mark Wohlrabe
So 13 Sep 20:00
KONZERT

Bernd Alois Zimmermann / Allan Pettersson

MALMÖ OPERAORKESTER, STEVEN SLOANE
13 Sep
20:00
  • 13 Sep
    20:00
    Konzert
    Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr, Bochum
    Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr
    nicht buchbar

Der Kölner Komponist Bernd Alois Zimmermann war in seinen frühen Werken gedanklich noch verbunden mit Arnold Schönberg und Alban Berg und ihrer Musik dichter thematisch-motivischer Verwicklungen in atonaler oder zwölftöniger Gestalt. Seine 1951 entstandene Sinfonie in einem Satz schwinge „in großen Bögen, von apokalyptischer Bedrohung zu mystischer Versenkung“, schrieb er. Dieser hoch expressiven, dramatischen Musik scheint der Schrecken der Nazizeit und des 2. Weltkriegs noch in den Knochen zu stecken.

Der mitunter als „Gustav Mahler Schwedens“ bezeichnete Allan Pettersson betritt in seiner 1968 uraufgeführten 7. Sinfonie einen noch meditativeren Weg: Brütende Tonwiederholungen, erdige Ostinato-Rhythmen und große melodische Bögen vereinen sich zu einer – wie bei Zimmermann durchaus religiösen – Bekenntnismusik, die in ihrem unendlich scheinenden Klangstrom zu einem tief innerlichen Hören aufruft. 

Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr
Marienplatz 1
44787 Bochum

Weitere Informationen

Einführung jeweils 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn.

Bernd Alois Zimmermann: Sinfonie in einem Satz“ (1. Fassung von 1951) 18' Allan Patterson: 7. Sinfonie von v 1967 44’ Eine Produktion der Ruhrtriennale in Kooperation mit dem Anneliese Brost Musikforum Ruhr.

Besetzung

Musikalische Leitung Steven Sloane
Mit Malmö Opera

Cookies

Wir setzen auf unserer Seite Cookies ein, um Grundfunktionen der Website zu ermöglichen und unser Onlineangebot zu verbessern. Außerdem nutzen wir Cookies zur Erhebung anonymer Statistiken. Wenn Sie mit der Nutzung von Cookies nicht einverstanden sind, können Sie über den Button "Einstellungen" Anpassungen vornehmen. Alle Einstellungen können unter ruhr3.com/datenschutz jederzeit geändert und widerrufen werden. Weitere Informationen…

Informationen zu den Cookies, die auf dieser Website genutzt werden, finden Sie unter "Einstellungen"

Cookie-Einstellungen