© Guido Mencari
Wed 9 Sep 20:00
MASCHINENHAUSMUSIK 4 / CONCERT

Erinnern

ELAINE MITCHENER
9 Sep
20:00
  • 9 Sep
    20:00
    First performance
    Maschinenhaus, Essen
    Maschinenhaus Essen
    not bookable

the then + the now = now time

Elaine Mitchener presents a solo vocal movement performance about memory and Afro-Caribbean-European identity. Her work explores a historical consciousness in which the past is not understood and glorified as something closed and complete: a form of remembering that emphasises the past’s relentless presence. In contrast to a memory whose thrust is mediating, conciliatory and distancing, Mitchener remains true to suffering in the past by refusing reconciliation with past wrongs.

the then + the now = now time is an artistic quest to politicize the past, undoing and unsettling time and space using music and movement. Born in East London to Jamaican parents, Mitchener’s artistic work as a vocalist, movement artist and composer is permeated by the awareness of past and present forms of discrimination, post-colonial wounds and their effects on humanity. “We will inhabit a concept of remembering as an act of responsibility. An act that in turn is ultimately liberating and healing.” Elaine Mitchener

Maschinenhaus Essen
Zeche Carl
Wilhelm-Nieswandt-Allee 100
45326 Essen

More at this location:
Maschinenhaus Essen

Further Information

Artisttalk with Elaine Mitchener and Dam Van Huynh after the performance.

Elaine Mitchener: the then + the now = now time (2019) 50’ Commission and production: MaerzMusik 2019/ Berliner Festspiele

Cast

Concept, Music, Performance Elaine Mitchener
Direction, Choreography Dam Van Huynh
Light Design Antony Hateley
Studio technology Ben Marc
Production Assistant Tommaso Petrolo

Further Information

Cookies

We use cookies on our site to enable basic website functions and to improve our online service. We also use cookies to collect anonymous statistics. If you do not agree with the use of cookies, you can make adjustments by clicking the "Settings" button. All settings can be changed and withdrawn from at any time at ruhr3.com/datenschutz. More information…

Information about the cookies used on this website can be found under "Settings"

Cookie settings

© Guido Mencari
Mi 9 Sep 20:00
MASCHINENHAUSMUSIK 4 / KONZERT

Erinnern

ELAINE MITCHENER
9 Sep
20:00
  • 9 Sep
    20:00
    Premiere
    Zeche Carl, Essen
    Maschinenhaus Essen
    fällt aus

the then + the now = now time

Elaine Mitchener zeigt eine Solo-Vocal-Movement-Performance über das Erinnern und die afro-karibisch europäische Identität. Sie erkundet in ihrer Arbeit ein geschichtliches Bewusstsein und eine Form des Erinnerns, in der die Vergangenheit nicht als etwas Abgeschlossenes begriffen und verklärt wird. Das betont schonungslos die Gegenwärtigkeit des Vergangenen. Im Gegensatz zu einer vermittelnden, distanzierend beschwichtigenden Tendenz der Erinnerung bleibt Mitchener dem Leiden der Vergangenheit treu und lehnt die Beilegung vergangenen Unrechts ab.

the then + the now = now time ist ein künstlerischer Versuch, die Vergangenheit zu politisieren, indem Zeit und Raum mithilfe von Musik und Bewegung aufgelöst und aus dem Gleichgewicht gebracht werden. Mitchener wurde in Ost-London als Kind jamaikanischer Eltern geboren. Ihre künstlerische Arbeit als Vokalistin, Performerin und Komponistin ist durchdrungen vom Bewusstsein vergangener und gegenwärtiger Formen der Diskriminierung, postkolonialer Wunden und ihrer Auswirkungen auf die Menschheit. „Wir werden in einem Akt der Verantwortlichkeit die Erinnerung bevölkern. Dieser Akt ist äußerst befreiend und heilend“, so Elaine Mitchener.

Maschinenhaus Essen
Zeche Carl
Wilhelm-Nieswandt-Allee 100
45326 Essen

Mehr an diesem Ort:
Maschinenhaus Essen

Weitere Informationen

Gespräch mit Elaine Mitchener und Dam Van Huynh im Anschluss an die Vorstellung.

Elaine Mitchener: the then + the now = now time (2019) 50’ Auftragswerk und Produktion: MaerzMusik 2019/ Berliner Festspiele

Besetzung

Konzept, Musik, Performance Elaine Mitchener
Regie, Choreografie Dam Van Huynh
Lichtdesign Antony Hateley
Studiotechnik Ben Marc
Produktionsassistenz Tommaso Petrolo

Weitere Informationen

Cookies

Wir setzen auf unserer Seite Cookies ein, um Grundfunktionen der Website zu ermöglichen und unser Onlineangebot zu verbessern. Außerdem nutzen wir Cookies zur Erhebung anonymer Statistiken. Wenn Sie mit der Nutzung von Cookies nicht einverstanden sind, können Sie über den Button "Einstellungen" Anpassungen vornehmen. Alle Einstellungen können unter ruhr3.com/datenschutz jederzeit geändert und widerrufen werden.