© Jörg Brüggemann
Fri 11 Sep Sat 12 Sep
CONCERT

Bernd Alois Zimmermann / Gustav Mahler

BOCHUMER SYMPHONIKER, MALMÖ OPERAORKESTER, STEVEN SLOANE
11 Sep
12 Sep

No other work of the second half of the 20th century so emphatically unites radiance of sound, direct emotion and biographical tragedy as much as Stille und Umkehr by Bernd Alois Zimmermann. It is Zimmermann’s final orchestral composition, written shortly before his suicide, whose 50th anniversary falls in 2020.

The tone D that is played from beginning to end burrows into the brain like tinnitus and sets off a persistent meditation on that tone. For a moment it is possible to appreciate the “sphericity” which Zimmermann pursued throughout his composing career – where past, present and future are united in time.

Gustav Mahler’s 6th Symphony also shows how personal suffering can be turned into music. As if struck by a giant hammer, violence switches abruptly into tenderness and tenderness into violence. In its ruggedly direct nature, this monumental work lasting 85 minutes, written between 1903 and 1904, is a herald of the modern age to come.

Jahrhunderthalle Bochum
An der Jahrhunderthalle 1
44793 Bochum

More at this location:
Jahrhunderthalle Bochum

Further Information

Introduction 45 minutes prior to show.

Bernd Alois Zimmermann: Stille und Umkehr (1970) 10‘ Gustav Mahler: 6. Symphony(1903/1904) 82‘ Produced by Ruhrtriennale in co-operation with Bochumer Symphoniker and Malmö Operaorkester.

Cast

Musical direction Steven Sloane
Orchestra Bochumer Symphoniker
With Malmö Opera

Cookies

We use cookies on our site to enable basic website functions and to improve our online service. We also use cookies to collect anonymous statistics. If you do not agree with the use of cookies, you can make adjustments by clicking the "Settings" button. All settings can be changed and withdrawn from at any time at ruhr3.com/datenschutz. More information…

Information about the cookies used on this website can be found under "Settings"

Cookie settings

© Jörg Brüggemann
Fr 11 Sep Sa 12 Sep
KONZERT

Bernd Alois Zimmermann / Gustav Mahler

BOCHUMER SYMPHONIKER, MALMÖ OPERAORKESTER, STEVEN SLOANE
11 Sep
12 Sep

Stille und Umkehr von Bernd Alois Zimmermann vermag wie kaum ein anderes Werk der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts Strahlkraft der Töne, direkte Emotionalität und biografische Tragik eindrücklich zu vereinen. Es ist die letzte Orchesterkomposition Zimmermanns, geschrieben kurz vor dessen Selbsttötung, die sich 2020 zum 50. Mal jährt.

Der von Anfang bis Ende umspielte Ton „d“ schraubt sich wie ein Tinnitus ins Gehirn und setzt eine bohrende Ton-Meditation in Gang. Die von Zimmermann ein Leben lang kompositorisch verfolgte „Kugelgestalt der Zeit“ – die Gleichzeitigkeit von Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft – wird hier für Momente greifbar.

Auch die 6. Sinfonie von Gustav Mahler zeigt, wie aus persönlichem Schicksal Musik werden kann. Gewalt schlägt hier wie mit einem Riesenhammer in Zärtlichkeit um und Zärtlichkeit in Gewalt. Das 85 Minuten dauernde monumentale Werk, entstanden zwischen 1903 und 1904, zeichnet in seiner schroffen Direktheit den Weg in die Moderne vor.

Jahrhunderthalle Bochum
An der Jahrhunderthalle 1
44793 Bochum

Mehr an diesem Ort:
Jahrhunderthalle Bochum

Weitere Informationen

Einführung jeweils 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn.

Bernd Alois Zimmermann: Stille und Umkehr (1970) 10‘ Gustav Mahler: 6. Sinfonie (1903/1904) 82‘ Eine Produktion der Ruhrtriennale in Kooperation mit den Bochumer Symphonikern und Malmö Operaorkester.

Besetzung

Musikalische Leitung Steven Sloane
Orchester Bochumer Symphoniker
Mit Malmö Opera

Cookies

Wir setzen auf unserer Seite Cookies ein, um Grundfunktionen der Website zu ermöglichen und unser Onlineangebot zu verbessern. Außerdem nutzen wir Cookies zur Erhebung anonymer Statistiken. Wenn Sie mit der Nutzung von Cookies nicht einverstanden sind, können Sie über den Button "Einstellungen" Anpassungen vornehmen. Alle Einstellungen können unter ruhr3.com/datenschutz jederzeit geändert und widerrufen werden. Weitere Informationen…

Informationen zu den Cookies, die auf dieser Website genutzt werden, finden Sie unter "Einstellungen"

Cookie-Einstellungen