© Walter Mair
Fri 14 Aug Sun 23 Aug
MUSIC-THEATRE-CREATION

Die Verschollenen (Für großes Orchester)

CHRISTOPH MARTHALER, PETER RUNDEL, ANNA VIEBROCK
14 Aug
23 Aug

The centrepiece of Christoph Marthaler’s music theatre creation is Alexander Scriabin’s orchestral work first performed in 1908 Le Poème de l’Extase (The Poem of Ecstasy). An uncompromising and euphoric large scale composition, written in a confusing period of transition: at the beginning of the 20th century new levels of growth produced a fundamental change in the production and working conditions in mines, pits and factories: the capitalist financial system and company monopolies exacerbated the unequal distribution of wealth and caused an increasing sense of disorientation in Western societies.

This is a condition that the writer Franz Kafka alludes to in his book Der Verschollene (The Man Who Disappeared). This fragment of a novel in which Kafka describes an emigrant to America who is in danger of being lost in the land of unlimited opportunities, is full of the disconcerting sounds and rhythms of the New World. The novel’s individual episodes seem to resemble sections of a musical composition: they are polyphonic, with richly contrasting instrumentation, showy, fragile, and packed with introductions, highlights, repetitions, pauses and false cadences.

This association is highlighted in Christoph Marthaler’s production by bringing together motifs from Kafka’s narrative with Scriabin’s Poème and works by the Hungarian composer Béla Bartók. Indeed Marthaler goes further, inventing a work of music theatre in which not the single protagonist of a novel but the entire ensemble of the Bochumer Symphoniker is set in motion to counteract the forces of a spreading sense of loss. Together the musicians – almost a hundred of them – reach the enigmatic “Nature Theatre of Oklahoma” and are not a little surprised that this is a place where work is also conducted “underground”. To all appearances they are concerned with mining previously undiscovered raw materials. No one can say whether these are organic, inorganic or utopian in origin. The only thing that is certain is that recovering them requires a large orchestra. At least. Two would be better.

Jahrhunderthalle Bochum
An der Jahrhunderthalle 1
44793 Bochum

Further Information

Introduction 45 minutes prior to show.

Artist talk 15th of August after the performance.

Produced by Ruhrtriennale.

Language information: German with English surtitles.

Cast

Director Christoph Marthaler
Musical direction Peter Rundel
Stage Design Anna Viebrock Thilo Albers
Costume Design Charlotte Pistorius
Co-Regie Joachim Rathke
Light Design Phoenix (Andreas Hofer)
Sound Thomas Wegner
Dramaturgy Malte Ubenauf
With Tora Augestad Marc Bodnar Charlotte Clamens Raphael Clamer Bendix Dethleffsen Veronika Eberle (Violine) Olivia Grigolli Martin Horn Ueli Jäggi Jürg Kienberger Claudius Körber Elisa Plüss Martin Schütz (Violoncello/ Elektronik) Clemens Sienknecht Graham F. Valentine Sebastian Zuber

Cookies

We use cookies on our site, in which different information can be stored. Some are used to enable basic website functions, others are used for statistical purposes and to improve our online service. If you click on "Accept", you agree to this. If you do not agree, you can adjust your settings by clicking on the "Adjust settings" button. You can object to the use of cookies at any time and deactivate their storage in the settings of your browser. You will find more detailed information in our data protection declaration at ruhr3.com/datenschutz. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. In this way, your shopping cart is saved during the ordering process and you can log on to the website.

Cookies are also needed to enhance the experience on the website. They allow you to play media on Youtube, Vimeo, Soundcloud or Spotify. In addition, we use zoho forms to allow you to subscribe to certain productions and Mailchimp to subscribe to various newsletters.

Finally, cookies are also used to make marketing activities as efficient and personal as possible. We use Google Analytics to collect information for statistical purposes and to improve our online services.

Cookie settings

© Walter Mair
Fr 14 Aug So 23 Aug
MUSIKTHEATER-KREATION

Die Verschollenen (Für großes Orchester)

CHRISTOPH MARTHALER, PETER RUNDEL, ANNA VIEBROCK
14 Aug
23 Aug

Im Zentrum von Christoph Marthalers Musiktheater-Kreation steht Alexander Skrjabins 1908 uraufgeführtes Orchesterstück Le Poème de l’Extase. Eine groß besetzte, kompromisslose und euphorische Komposition, geschrieben in verwirrenden Zeiten des Übergangs: Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts erzeugen neue Wachstumsvorgaben einen tiefgreifenden Wandel der Produktions- und Arbeitsbedingungen in den Bergwerken, Zechen und Fabriken; Finanzkapitalismus und Monopolwirtschaft verschärfen die ungleiche Verteilung des Geldes und verursachen in den westlichen Gesellschaften ein zunehmendes Gefühl der Orientierungslosigkeit.

Ein Umstand, den auch der Schriftsteller Franz Kafka in seinem Buch Der Verschollene aufgreift. Das Romanfragment, in dem Kafka von einem Amerika-Auswanderer berichtet, der im Land der unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten verloren zu gehen droht, ist angefüllt mit den irritierenden Klängen und Rhythmen der Neuen Welt. Fast erscheinen die einzelnen Episoden des Romans wie Teile einer musikalischen Komposition: vielstimmig, kontrastreich instrumentiert, auftrumpfend, fragil, voller Einleitungen, Höhepunkte, Wiederholungen, Fermaten und Trugschlüsse.

Eine Assoziation, die Christoph Marthaler für seine Inszenierung weiterdenkt: So bringt er Motive aus Kafkas Erzählung mit Skrjabins Poème sowie Werken des ungarischen Komponisten Béla Bartók in Verbindung. Mehr noch: Marthaler erfindet ein Musiktheater, in dem sich keine einzelne Romanfigur, sondern der gesamte Klangkörper der Bochumer Symphoniker in Bewegung setzt, um den Kräften einer sich ausbreitenden Verlorenheit entgegenzuwirken. Gemeinsam erreichen die fast einhundert Musiker*innen schließlich das rätselhafte „Naturtheater von Oklahoma“ und sind nicht wenig überrascht, dass an diesem Ort auch „unter Tage“ gearbeitet wird. Allem Anschein nach geht es um die Förderung bisher unentdeckter Rohstoffe. Niemand kann sagen, ob sie organischen, anorganischen oder utopischen Ursprungs sind. Fest steht nur, dass zur Freilegung ein großes Orchester benötigt wird. Mindestens. Besser wären zwei.

Jahrhunderthalle Bochum
An der Jahrhunderthalle 1
44793 Bochum

Weitere Informationen

Einführung jeweils 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn.

Künstler*innengespräch am 15. August im Anschluss an die Vorstellung.

Eine Produktion der Ruhrtriennale.

Sprachinformation: Deutsch mit englischen Übertiteln.

Besetzung

Regie Christoph Marthaler
Musikalische Leitung Peter Rundel
Bühne Anna Viebrock Thilo Albers
Kostüm Charlotte Pistorius
Co-Regie Joachim Rathke
Licht Phoenix (Andreas Hofer)
Sound Thomas Wegner
Dramaturgie Malte Ubenauf
Mit Tora Augestad Marc Bodnar Charlotte Clamens Raphael Clamer Bendix Dethleffsen Veronika Eberle (Violine) Olivia Grigolli Martin Horn Ueli Jäggi Jürg Kienberger Claudius Körber Elisa Plüss Martin Schütz (Violoncello/ Elektronik) Clemens Sienknecht Graham F. Valentine Sebastian Zuber

Cookies

Wir setzen auf unserer Seite Cookies ein, in denen unterschiedliche Angaben gespeichert werden können. Einige werden verwendet, um Grundfunktionen der Website zu ermöglichen, andere werden zu Statistikzwecken und zur Verbesserung unseres Onlineangebots genutzt. Wenn Sie auf "Einverstanden" klicken, stimmen Sie dem zu. Wenn Sie nicht einverstanden sind, können Sie Ihre Einstellungen über den Button "Einstellungen anpassen" festlegen. Sie können dem Einsatz von Cookies jederzeit widersprechen und die Speicherung in den Einstellungen Ihres Browsers abschalten. Nähere Hinweise dazu finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung unter ruhr3.com/datenschutz. Weitere Informationen…

Cookies sind erforderlich, damit die Website ordnungsgemäß funktioniert. Auf diese Weise wird Ihr Warenkorb während der Bestellung gespeichert und Sie können sich auf der Website einloggen.

Cookies werden auch benötigt, um das Erlebnis auf der Website zu erweitern. Sie ermöglichen das Abspielen von Medien auf Youtube, Vimeo, Soundcloud oder Spotify. Zusätzlich verwenden wir zoho forms, um Ihnen die Anmeldung zu bestimmten Produktionen zu ermöglichen, und Mailchimp zur Anmeldung verschiedener Newsletter.

Schließlich werden Cookies auch verwendet, um Marketingaktivitäten so effizient und persönlich wie möglich zu gestalten. Wir verwenden Google Analytics, um Informationen für Statistikzwecke zu sammeln und unser Onlineangebote zu verbessern.

Cookie-Einstellungen