© Christian Palm
Sat 5 Sep Sat 19 Sep
CONCERT

ELIAS

FELIX MENDELSSOHN BARTHOLDY, CHORWERK RUHR, CONCERTO KÖLN, FLORIAN HELGATH
5 Sep
19 Sep

We use cookies to play media on Youtube, Vimeo, Soundcloud and Spotify. Additionally, we use zoho forms to enable you to register for certain productions and Mailchimp to subscribe to various newsletters. Please agree to the use of cookies in order to view this content. More information…

Information about the cookies used on this website can be found under "Settings"

Cookie settings

Chorwerk Ruhr celebrates its 20th anniversary by presenting one of the most important and extravagant choral works in the history of music: Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy’s Elijah. Mendelssohn’s oratorio is based on the Old Testament story of the prophet Elijah. The material is intensely dramatic – from the terrible curse Elijah pronounces when God appears to his final ascension into Heaven. So it is no surprise that the music composition contains operatic features.

It is a fascinating work because of the special way it links recitative, arias and choruses and the variety of its choral movements: contrapuntal passages, in parts fugue or canon-like, alternate with homophone movements and forms of choral movement. Mendelssohn makes full use of all the means at his disposal to create choral scenes with thrilling dramatic effects.

In this production conducted by Florian Helgath, Chorwerk Ruhr will work together with the outstanding Concerto Köln. The soloists are Carolina Ullrich, Ingeborg Danz, Patrick Grahl and Thomas E. Bauer.

Free shuttle service

A shuttle bus will take you from Essen Hbf to the Maschinenhalle Zweckel in Gladbeck and back on 19th Sept. Information on departure times can be found here.

Further Information

A production by CHORWERK RUHR for Ruhrtriennale 2020.

Cast

Choir CHORWERK RUHR
Orchester Concerto Köln
Musical direction Florian Helgath
Sopran Carolina Ullrich
Alt Ingeborg Danz
Tenor Patrick Grahl
Bass Thomas E. Bauer

Cookies

We use cookies on our site to enable basic website functions and to improve our online service. We also use cookies to collect anonymous statistics. If you do not agree with the use of cookies, you can make adjustments by clicking the "Settings" button. All settings can be changed and withdrawn from at any time at ruhr3.com/datenschutz. More information…

Information about the cookies used on this website can be found under "Settings"

Cookie settings

© Christian Palm
Sa 5 Sep Sa 19 Sep
KONZERT

ELIAS

FELIX MENDELSSOHN BARTHOLDY, CHORWERK RUHR, CONCERTO KÖLN, FLORIAN HELGATH
5 Sep
19 Sep

Wir nutzen Cookies zum Abspielen von Medien auf Youtube, Vimeo, Soundcloud und Spotify. Zusätzlich verwenden wir zoho forms, um Ihnen die Anmeldung zu bestimmten Produktionen zu ermöglichen, und Mailchimp zur Anmeldung diverser Newsletter. Bitte stimmen Sie dem Einsatz von Cookies zu, um diese Inhalte sehen zu können. Weitere Informationen…

Informationen zu den Cookies, die auf dieser Website genutzt werden, finden Sie unter "Einstellungen"

Cookie-Einstellungen

Chorwerk Ruhr präsentiert zu seinem 20-jährigen Jubiläum eines der wichtigsten und opulentesten Chorwerke der Musikgeschichte: Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdys Elias. Mendelssohn Bartholdy greift in dem Oratorium die alttestamentarische Geschichte des Propheten Elias auf. In der Vorlage steckt viel Dramatik – vom grausamen Fluch des Elias über die Erscheinung Gottes bis zu Elias’ Himmelfahrt. So wundert es nicht, dass die musikalische Gestaltung opernhafte Züge trägt.

Das Werk fasziniert durch seine besondere Verknüpfung von Rezitativen, Arien und Chören sowie durch die Vielfalt der Chorsätze: Kontrapunktische Passagen, teilweise fugiert oder kanonisch, wechseln sich mit homophonen Sätzen und Formen des Choralsatzes ab. Mendelssohn reizt alle kompositorischen Mittel aus und schafft so Chorszenen mit packender dramatischer Wirkung.

Chorwerk Ruhr wird für diese Produktion unter der Leitung von Florian Helgath mit dem herausragenden Concerto Köln zusammenarbeiten. Als Solist*innen sind Carolina Ullrich, Ingeborg Danz, Patrick Grahl und Thomas E. Bauer zu erleben.

Kostenloser Shuttle-Service

Ein kostenloser Shuttle-Service bringt Sie am 19. Sept von Essen Hbf zur Maschinenhalle Zweckel in Gladbeck und zurück. Infos zu Abfahrtszeiten finden Sie hier.

Weitere Informationen

Eine CHORWERK RUHR Produktion für die Ruhrtriennale 2020.

Besetzung

Chor CHORWERK RUHR
Orchester Concerto Köln
Musikalische Leitung Florian Helgath
Sopran Carolina Ullrich
Alt Ingeborg Danz
Tenor Patrick Grahl
Bass Thomas E. Bauer

Cookies

Wir setzen auf unserer Seite Cookies ein, um Grundfunktionen der Website zu ermöglichen und unser Onlineangebot zu verbessern. Außerdem nutzen wir Cookies zur Erhebung anonymer Statistiken. Wenn Sie mit der Nutzung von Cookies nicht einverstanden sind, können Sie über den Button "Einstellungen" Anpassungen vornehmen. Alle Einstellungen können unter ruhr3.com/datenschutz jederzeit geändert und widerrufen werden. Weitere Informationen…

Informationen zu den Cookies, die auf dieser Website genutzt werden, finden Sie unter "Einstellungen"

Cookie-Einstellungen