© Elisabeth Hölscheidt

Films in between/ Kurzfilmnacht

15 Sep
19:00
  • Sun 15 Sep
    19:00 – 22:00
    Performance
    Jahrhunderthalle, Bochum
    Third Space

Ten young filmmakers have been invited to present their short films at Third Space. Those films are based on the concept of the Third Space  (Homi K. Bhabha).
 

Beasts Of No Nation

Krzysztof Honowski
Köln 2019 // Duration: 9.28 min

An essay film about crowds, nationalism and the loneliness of rollercoasters.
Born in London to Polish immigrants and now living in Germany, Krzysztof Honowski is very confused by what is happening right now in the two countries that he comes from. Examining the roots of his own political disappointment Honowski, together with the German actress Laura Sundermann, attempts to create a narrative that “speaks for a generation”.
This of course is impossible and this parody of a grand narrative soon gets derailed by the small details of the everyday. Honowski and Sundermann's narrator must instead confront their own cowardice, exhaustion and disavowal.
Cast: Laura Sundermann, Bradley Davies, Kalli

The Face of the Tree

Daliah Ziper
Frankfurt am Main 2019 // Duration: 13.24 min

Olive Trees - protagonists of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. This tree metaphorically stands for home and exile, rootedness and displacement. The text "Olive Tress", written by the Israeli dramaturg Liat Fassberg accompanies the moving images and guides the viewer of the film through the divided land. The montage of text and image opens up new ways of thinking and perceiving the conflict, while nature becomes the place for discourse and negotiation.
Cast: Aziz & Or

my castle your castle

Kerstin Honeit
Berlin 2017 // Duration: 14.47 min

my castle your castle tackles the debate about rebuilding the Berliner Stadtschloss, the former royal palace in the centre of Berlin, on the foundations of the Palace of the Republic. Two building workers who were deeply involved in the construction or demolition of the palace take part in a talk show held on the site, along with a concert by queer cowboys. The palace, described as an emblematic structure that will restore identity to a nation, is turned into a space occupied by new actors whose voices are otherwise drowned out of the debate.
Cast: Production / Research / Dramaturgy: Jessica Páez
Performance: Peter Friedrich, Gunter Teichert, Damian Rebgetz, Paul Hankinson
Camera: Ljupcho Temelkovski, annette hollywood
Costume: Emma Cattell
Sound: Philipp Fröhlich, Jochen Jezussek

This is my land...

Salvador Miranda
Rotterdam 2019 // Duration: 7.49 min

This is my land… is an experimental 2-channel film examining the trial of a woman whose home is threatened by a new development project. The work explores the use of language and rhetoric, its deployment in support of incommensurable worldviews, as well as competing visions of utopia, progress and home.
Cast: Defendant: Amélie Onzon
Witness: Ed Lesemann
Prosecutor: Martijm Scherff
Prosecutor (v.o.): Michael Kras

Los animales

Paola Buontempo
La Plata 2012 // Duration: 8.38 min

The author John Berger asks in his essay “Why do we look at animals?” If the zoo offers us the opportunity to look at them, do animals look back at us? “The eyes of the animal hesitate and pass by. They look sideways, they look without seeing beyond the bars. They are immunized against the encounter.”
Cast: Edgardo Etcheverry

When we bleed

Ania Pachura
Göttingen 2018 // Duration: 14.37 min

Ania Pachura creates with and within the documentary film When we bleed a space which engages with menstruation and aims to demystificate the negative narratives of the stigma around it. The film gives women of several generations and backgrounds a voice to talk about their experiences, both on a personal and on a professional level.
Cast: Angharad Lewis-Jones, Noona Dattonram, Marie Böttner, Renata Fafinski, Gabriela Solinska, Emily Faris, Liya Hagos

Stilluntitled - Way of listening

Yuyen Lin-Woywod
Berlin 2018 // Duration: 10.47 min

Found footage material shows quick and unstructured sequences of images. Simultaneously, a google translate pops up and begins to translate a story about the loss of a language over one generation to the next. A voice tells us another story in unusual grammar structures but otherwise native sounding German.
Cast: Thea Drechsler, Yuyen Lin-Woywod

Private Talk

Liza Spivakovskaya und Nastya Dzyuban
Gießen 2019 // Duration: 14.58 min

Private Talk is a video essay, an intimate encounter of two people sharing partially common backgrounds in the context of expatriation. The meeting happens in between a conversation, game, interview and mental trip, raising topics of migration, ways of (not-)identifying with new places, stories, contexts; bridging language barriers, shifting perception of space and time. Starting with a quiet pace the dialog flows, at times transforming its velocity of meanings and relations. Being comprehensible by any spectator, the piece nevertheless can be perceived differently, based on the viewers cultural, political, existential and linguistic experiences.
Cast: Liza Spivakovskaya, Nastya Dzyuban

Faxen

Lisa Domin
Gelsenkirchen 2018 // Duration: 8.09 min

The video follows a special form of communication: “Faxen”. The prison in Gelsenkirchen (Germany) has an unusual architecture: men and women sections lay vis-à-vis - only divided from a sports field. Conversations by "faxing" can be hold with letters written with light or hand in the air, mostly to foreign dialog partners who never see each other face to face. The contact to the inmate Vanessa made it possible to "stage" the communication form in order not to record the private conversations. The chance to exchange with other people becomes essential - just to kill time or even to dream of a common future.
Cast: Vanessa (Insassin der JVA)

O Catador sem Cabeça / The headless Gatherer

Igor Shin Moromisato
Köln 2019 // Duration: 14.06 min

This cinematic narrator cultivates a dream that feeds on desires, remorse and longing. Somnambulistic, pale at first, then more and more contoured, the animation about the "headless gatherer" is projected onto nocturnal cityscapes, their passers-by and their shady sides. The autobiographical metropolitan experiences skip across levels of time and images with a lightness that testifies to the refinement and complexity of their fusion. Igor Shin Moromisato sends his O Catador sem Cabeça, composed of Brazilian and Japanese cultural myths, into a splendidly colourful nocturnal atmosphere of which we would like to see more in the future.

More at this location:
Third Space
Cookies
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen.
Mehr Infos

© Elisabeth Hölscheidt

Films in between/ Kurzfilmnacht

15 Sep
19:00 22:00
  • So 15 Sep
    19:00 – 22:00
    Veranstaltung
    Jahrhunderthalle , Bochum
    Third Space

Die Ruhrtriennale lädt zehn junge Filmschaffende ein, ihre Kurzfilme im Third Space zu zeigen. Über einen Open Call wurden in Anlehnung an das Konzept des „Third Space“ (Homi K. Bhabha) Filme eingereicht, die sich mit der Aushandlung gesellschaftlicher Prozesse auseinandersetzen, ungleiche Machtgefälle sowie die Infragestellung „normaler“ Muster thematisieren.

Beasts Of No Nation - Ein Kurzfilm von Krzysztof Honowski

Köln 2019 // Dauer: 9.28 min
Ein Essay-Film über die Problematik von Kollektivität und die Einsamkeit von Achterbahnen.

Geboren in London, als Sohn polnischer Immigranten, ist Krzysztof Honowski über die jetzigen, andauernden Geschehnisse in seinen beiden Heimatländern sehr irritiert. Gemeinsam mit der deutschen Schauspielerin Laura Sundermann versucht er eine Geschichte über die Stimmung seiner Generation zu erzählen. Das ist natürlich kaum möglich und die Parodie der grossen Erzählung zerfasert und zerfällt schnell durch die kleinen Dinge des gelebten Alltags und konfrontiert Honowski und Sundermann mit ihrer eigenen Mutlosigkeit, Verleugnung und Erschöpfung.

Cast: Laura Sundermann, Bradley Davies, Kalli

The Face of the Tree

Daliah Ziper
Frankfurt am Main 2019 // Dauer: 13.24 min

Ein Olivenbaum - Protagonist des israelisch-palästinensischen Konfliktes. Mit Blick auf den Baum, wird metaphorisch über Heimat, Grenzen, Verwurzelung und Vertreibung gesprochen. Der Text Olive Trees der in Frankfurt lebenden israelischen Dramaturgin Liat Fassberg begleitet die filmischen Aufnahmen und die Zuschauer*innen auf der Reise durch das Land. Die Montage aus Text und Bild eröffnet Projektionsflächen, die es ermöglichen unsere Sicht und Haltung zu dem Konflikt bewusster zu hinterfragen und in der Natur einen Ort des Diskurses zu finden.

Cast: Aziz & Or

my castle your castle

Kerstin Honeit
Berlin 2017 // Dauer: 14.47 min

my castle your castle widmet sich der Debatte um den Wiederaufbau des Berliner Stadtschlosses auf dem Fundament des Palast der Republik. Zwei Bauarbeiter, die beim Aufbau bzw. Abriss des Palasts maßgeblich beteiligt waren, sind Teil einer Talkshow, die in der Stadtschloss-Baustelle stattfindet, zu der auch noch queere Cowboys mit einer Musikeinlage geladen sind. Das Schloss als „identitätsstiftendes“ Bauwerk von nationaler Bedeutung wird so als Raum von Akteuren neu besetzt, deren Stimme in der Debatte sonst untergeht.

Cast: Produktion / Recherche / Dramaturgie: Jessica Páez
Performance: Peter Friedrich, Gunter Teichert, Damian Rebgetz, Paul Hankinson
Kamera: Ljupcho Temelkovski, annette hollywood
Kostüme: Emma Cattell
Sound: Philipp Fröhlich, Jochen Jezussek

This is my land...

Salvador Miranda
Rotterdam 2019 // Dauer: 7.49 min

This is my land... ist ein experimenteller 2-Kanal-Film, der den Prozess gegen eine Frau untersucht, deren Zuhause durch ein neues Entwicklungsprojekt bedroht ist. Die Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit dem Gebrauch von Sprache und Rhetorik, dem Einsatz für nicht vergleichbare Weltbilder sowie konkurrierenden Visionen von Utopie, Fortschritt und Heimat.

Cast: Angeklagte: Amélie Onzon
Zeuge: Ed Lesemann
Staatsanwalt: Martijm Scherff
Staatsanwalt (v.o.): Michael Kras

Los animales

Paola Buontempo
La Plata 2012 // Dauer: 8.38 min

Der Schriftsteller John Berger fragt in seinem Essay: „Warum sehen wir Tiere an?” Wenn der Zoo uns die Möglichkeit gibt sie anzusehen, sehen die Tiere dann auch uns an? „Die Augen der Tiere zögern und ziehen an uns vorbei. Sie sehen zur Seite, sie sehen, ohne jenseits der Gitterstäbe sehen zu können. Sie sind gegen die Begegnung immunisiert.“

Cast: Edgardo Etcheverry

When we bleed

Ania Pachura
Göttingen 2018 // Dauer: 14.37 min

Mit dem Dokumentarfilm When we bleed schafft die Filmemacherin Ania Pachura einen Raum für die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema Menstruation, der der Mystifizierung und der fortschreitenden negativen Geschichtsschreibung von Perioden entgegentritt. Sie zeigt sieben Cis- Frauen verschiedener Herkünfte und unterschiedlicher Generationen, die von ihrem Umgang und ihren Erfahrungen mit Menstruation berichten. Zwischen den gewöhnlichen schambehafteten Narrativen tauchen selbstbewusste Stimmen von Mädchen auf Schulstühlen in Klassenräumen auf.
Cast: Angharad Lewis-Jones, Noona Dattonram, Marie Böttner, Renata Fafinski, Gabriela Solinska, Emily Faris, Liya Hagos


Stilluntitled - Way of listening

Yuyen Lin-Woywod
Berlin 2018 // Dauer: 10.47 min

Foundfootage-Material zeigt schnelle und unstrukturierte Bildsequenzen. Gleichzeitig erscheint ein Google-Übersetzer und beginnt eine Geschichte über den Verlust einer Sprache von einer Generation zur nächsten zu übersetzen. Die Stimme einer deutschklingenden Muttersprachlerin erzählt uns eine andere Geschichte in ungewöhnlichen Grammatikstrukturen.

Cast: Thea Drechsler, Yuyen Lin-Woywod

Private Talk

von Liza Spivakovskaya und Nastya Dzyuban
Gießen 2019 // Dauer: 14.58 min

Private Talk ist ein Video-Essay, eine intime Begegnung zweier Menschen, die vor dem Hintergrund von Auswanderung scheinbar gleiche Lebenserfahrungen teilen. Das Treffen bewegt sich zwischen einem Gespräch, einem Spiel, einem Interview und einer mentalen Gedankenreise. Dabei werden sowohl Themen wie Migration, (Nicht-)Identifikation mit neuen Orten, Geschichten und Kontexten, als auch das Überwinden von Sprachbarrieren oder Veränderung von Raum- und Zeitwahrnehmung verhandelt. Das Stück ist für jede*n Zuschauer*in nachvollziehbar, kann jedoch aufgrund der jeweiligen kulturellen, politischen, existenziellen und sprachlichen Erfahrungen unterschiedlich erlebt werden.

Cast: Liza Spivakovskaya, Nastya Dzyuban

Faxen

Lisa Domin
Gelsenkirchen 2018 // Dauer: 8.09 min

Der Film beobachtet eine Form der Kommunikation. Die ungewöhnliche Architektur der JVA Gelsenkirchen, bei der sich Frauen- und Männerabteilung gegenüberliegen und nur von einem großen Sportfeld getrennt werden, ermöglicht das sogenannte „Faxen“. Gespräche können mit in die Luft geschriebenen Buchstaben geführt werden - meistens fremde Gegenüber, die sich nie zu Gesicht bekommen. Gefängnisaufenthalte sind manchmal nur eine kurze Zwischenstation, einige kommen aber auch immer wieder und einige bleiben sehr lange. Umso existenzieller ist die Möglichkeit des Austauschs, sei es zum Zeit totschlagen oder um von einer gemeinsamen Zukunft zu träumen.

Cast: Vanessa (Insassin der JVA)

O Catador sem Cabeça / The headless Gatherer

Igor Shin Moromisato
Köln 2019 // Dauer: 14.06 min

Der filmische Erzähler pflegt einen Traum, der sich aus Wünschen, Reue und Sehnsucht speist. Traumwandlerisch, erst blass, dann immer konturierter wird die Animation vom „Straßensammler ohne Kopf" auf nächtliche Stadtlandschaften, ihre Passanten und Schattenseiten projiziert. Dabei überspringen die autobiografischen Metropol-Erfahrungen die Zeit- und Bildebenen mit einer Leichtigkeit, die von der Raffinesse und Vielschichtigkeit ihrer Fusion zeugen. Igor Shin Moromisato schickt seinen aus brasilianischen und japanischen Kultur-Mythen zusammengesetzten O Catador sem Cabeça in ein prächtig farbintensives Kolorit der Nacht, von dem wir in Zukunft gerne noch mehr sehen wollen.
 

Mehr an diesem Ort:
Third Space
Cookies
Wir setzen auf unserer Seite Cookies ein, in denen unterschiedliche Angaben gespeichert werden können. Einige werden verwendet, um Grundfunktionen der Website zu ermöglichen, andere werden zu anonymen Statistikzwecken und zur Verbesserung unseres Onlineangebots genutzt. Sie können dem Einsatz von Cookies jederzeit widersprechen. Nähere Hinweise dazu finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.
Zur Datenschutzerklärung