(c) Joerg Brueggemann / OSTKREUZ
CREATION / MUSIC / THEATRE

Nach den letzten Tagen. Ein Spätabend

CHRISTOPH MARTHALER, ULI FUSSENEGGER, DURI BISCHOFF, STEFANIE CARP
21 Aug
1 Sep
  • Wed 21 Aug
    20:00 – 22:30
    First performance
    Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum
    Auditorium Maximum
    sold out
  • Thu 22 Aug
    20:00 – 22:30
    Performance
    Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum
    Auditorium Maximum
  • Sat 24 Aug
    20:00 – 22:30
    Performance
    Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum
    Auditorium Maximum
  • Sun 25 Aug
    18:00 – 20:30
    Performance
    Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum
    Auditorium Maximum
  • Wed 28 Aug
    20:00 – 22:30
    Performance
    Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum
    Auditorium Maximum
  • Thu 29 Aug
    20:00 – 22:30
    Performance
    Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum
    Auditorium Maximum
  • Fri 30 Aug
    20:00 – 22:30
    Performance
    Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum
    Auditorium Maximum
  • Sat 31 Aug
    20:00 – 22:30
    Performance
    Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum
    Auditorium Maximum
  • Sun 1 Sep
    18:00 – 20:30
    Performance
    Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum
    Auditorium Maximum

In response to the rise of nationalistic chauvinism in many countries in and beyond Europe, in his new creation for the Ruhrtriennale 2019 Christoph Marthaler will examine the decline of open democracy. In the years running up to 1914 ideologies fermented that subsequently discharged themselves in two world wars and the holocaust. Now we are witnessing shockingly similar statements in politics and public life. In many European countries democratic structures threaten to give way to a new totalitarianism. Adopting nationalism and racism to defend longestablished patterns of ownership appears to be more attractive than a transnational project of enlightened European individuals and an open, diverse society. Anti-democratic and aggressive exclusion, nationalism, racism and anti-Semitism have once more become socially acceptable. In the first half of the 20th century, with similarities to today, people were marginalized and eliminated who had been deemed unserviceable and outsiders.

The project’s musical core is dedicated to composers who were forced to leave Prague and Vienna such as Pavel Haas, Viktor Ullmann, Alexandre Tansman, Józef Koffler, Erwin Schulhoff, Gideon Klein, Szymon Laks and Erich Wolfgang Korngold. They were deported, murdered or forced to emigrate. Many of the works featured were written in the concentration camp Theresienstadt and some of them remain fragments. Viktor Ullmann wrote the notes of his final composition immediately before he was deported to Auschwitz.

This music will be placed in an imaginary parliament whose members give documented speeches from the period before the First World War, the present and those of the near future testify to the catastrophic collapse of civilization. The production will be created for the Auditorium Maximum of Ruhr-Universität Bochum, which will be transformed into a world parliament in which we as spectators from the present and a recognizable future look upon a Europe that has been destroyed.

Auditorium Maximum
Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Universitätsstraße 150
44801 Bochum

More at this location:
Auditorium Maximum

The Auditorium Maximum was constructed at the beginning of the 1970s for the newly-founded Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Its architecture contains a utopian promise. Its large, circular forum aspires to a public life that is communal and non-hierarchical. Our society has now distanced itself more than ever from this objective and the energy that formulates such aims is currently being manipulated by corrupt elites throughout Europe and the world. When Ruhr-Universität was founded, the first mines had just been closed. Education and participation for all were the new spirit of the future and made Ruhr-Universität Bochum one of the most interesting universities in Europe.

Christoph Marthaler’s new creation is produced in co-operation with the Ruhr-Universität Bochum. It will be accompanied by a symposium before the Ruhrtriennale begins in which local academics and international guests reflect together with the audience on the crisis of representation

Cast

Director Christoph Marthaler
Musical direction Uli Fussenegger
Texts, concept Stefanie Carp
Stage design Duri Bischoff
Costume Design Sarah Schittek
Co-Costume Carola Ruckdeschel
Light Design Andreas (Phoenix) Hofer
Sound Design Thomas Wegner
Co-Regie Gerhard Alt
Co-Dramaturge Malte Ubenauf
Co-Lightdesign Victor Duran
With Tora Augestad, Benito Bause, Carina Braunschmidt, Bendix Dethleffsen, Walter Hess, Claudius Körber, Katja Kolm, Stefan Merki, Josef Ostendorf, Elisa Plüss, Bettina Stucky
Uli Fussenegger, Hsin-Huei Huang, Claudia Kienzler, Michele Marelli, Sophie Schafleitner, Martin Veszelovicz

Introduction And Further Information

Introduction 45 minutes prior to show.

 

Artist talk 22nd of August after the performance.

 

Produced by Ruhrtriennale. In cooperation with Ruhr-Universität Bochum.

 

With kind support of Stiftung Pro Bochum.

 

Language information: German with English surtitles.

 

Cookies
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen.
Mehr Infos

KREATION / MUSIK / THEATER

Nach den letzten Tagen. Ein Spätabend

CHRISTOPH MARTHALER, ULI FUSSENEGGER, DURI BISCHOFF, STEFANIE CARP
21 Aug
1 Sep
Termine & Tickets
  • Mi 21 Aug
    20:00 – 22:30
    Premiere
    Audimax Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum
    Audimax Bochum
    ausverkauft
  • Do 22 Aug
    20:00 – 22:30
    Veranstaltung
    Audimax Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum
    Audimax Bochum
  • Sa 24 Aug
    20:00 – 22:30
    Veranstaltung
    Audimax Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum
    Audimax Bochum
  • So 25 Aug
    18:00 – 20:30
    Veranstaltung
    Audimax Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum
    Audimax Bochum
  • Mi 28 Aug
    20:00 – 22:30
    Veranstaltung
    Audimax Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum
    Audimax Bochum
  • Do 29 Aug
    20:00 – 22:30
    Veranstaltung
    Audimax Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum
    Audimax Bochum
  • Fr 30 Aug
    20:00 – 22:30
    Veranstaltung
    Audimax Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum
    Audimax Bochum
  • Sa 31 Aug
    20:00 – 22:30
    Veranstaltung
    Audimax Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum
    Audimax Bochum
  • So 1 Sep
    18:00 – 20:30
    Veranstaltung
    Audimax Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum
    Audimax Bochum

Auditorium Maximum
Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Universitätsstraße 150
44801 Bochum

Mehr an diesem Ort:
Auditorium Maximum

Aus Anlass des zunehmenden nationalen Chauvinismus in vielen Ländern in und außerhalb Europas beschäftigt sich Christoph Marthaler in seiner Kreation für die Ruhrtriennale 2019 mit dem Verlust von Demokratie. In den Jahren vor 1914 braute sich ideologisch zusammen, was sich dann in zwei Weltkriegen und im Holocaust entlud. Heute erleben wir erschreckend ähnliche Artikulationen in Politik und Öffentlichkeit. In nicht wenigen Ländern Europas drohen demokratische Strukturen einem neuen Totalitarismus zu weichen. Die nationalistische und rassistische Aufrüstung zur Verteidigung alter Besitzverhältnisse scheint attraktiver zu sein als ein transnationales Projekt aufgeklärter europäischer Individuen und eine offene, diverse Gesellschaft. Antidemokratische und aggressive Exklusion, Nationalismus, Rassismus und Antisemitismus sind wieder gesellschaftsfähig geworden. In der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts ging es, ähnlich wie heute, um Ausgrenzung und Auslöschung der Menschen, die man zu Unbrauchbaren, zu Außenseiter*innen erklärt hatte.


In seinem musikalischen Zentrum ist das Projekt den aus Prag und Wien vertriebenen Komponisten wie Pavel Haas, Viktor Ullmann, Alexandre Tansman, Józef Koffler, Erwin Schulhoff, Gideon Klein, Szymon Laks und Erich Wolfgang Korngold gewidmet. Sie wurden deportiert, ermordet oder gingen in die Emigration. Viele der Kompositionen sind im Konzentrationslager Theresienstadt entstanden, teilweise sind sie Fragmente geblieben. Viktor Ullmann schrieb die Noten seiner letzten Komposition unmittelbar vor der Deportation nach Auschwitz.


Die Musik erklingt in einem imaginierten Parlament, in dem Abgeordnete dokumentierte Reden aus der Zeit vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg, der Gegenwart und der nahen Zukunft halten, die katastrophale Zivilisationsbrüche bezeugen. Die Produktion wird für das Auditorium Maximum der Ruhr-Universität Bochum kreiert, das sich in ein Weltparlament verwandelt, in dem wir als Zuschauer*innen aus der Gegenwart und einer erkennbaren Zukunft auf ein zerstörtes Europa blicken.

Das Auditorium Maximum wurde für die neu gegründete Ruhr-Universität Bochum zu Beginn der 1970er Jahre gebaut. Seine Architektur enthält ein utopisches Versprechen. Mit dem großen, kreisrunden Forum hat man sich eine gemeinsame, hierarchielose Öffentlichkeit gewünscht. Von diesem Wunsch hat sich unsere Gesellschaft weiter denn je entfernt, und die Energie, die einen solchen Wunsch formuliert, wird derzeit europa- und weltweit von korrupten Eliten instrumentalisiert. Als die Bochumer Universität gegründet wurde, hatten die ersten Zechenschließungen bereits begonnen. Bildung und Teilhabe für alle waren die neue Zukunftsenergie und haben die Ruhr-Universität Bochum zu einer der interessantesten der Republik gemacht.


Die Kreation von Christoph Marthaler entsteht in einer Kooperation mit der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Sie wird begleitet von einem Symposium, in dem vor Beginn der Ruhrtriennale hiesige Wissenschaftler*innen und internationale Gäste gemeinsam mit dem Publikum über die Krisen der Repräsentation nachdenken.

Besetzung

Regie Christoph Marthaler
Musikalische Leitung Uli Fussenegger
Texte und Konzeption Stefanie Carp
Bühne Duri Bischoff
Kostüm Sarah Schittek
Licht Phoenix (Andreas Hofer)
Regiemitarbeit Gerhard Alt
Mit Tora Augestad, Carina Braunschmidt, Bendix Dethleffsen, Walter Hess, Ueli Jäggi, Katja Kolm, Stefan Merki, Josef Ostendorf, Elisa Plüss, Bettina Stucky
Musik Uli Fussenegger, Hsin-Huei Huang, Claudia Kienzler, Michele Marelli, Sophie Schafleitner, Martin Veszelovicz

Einführung und besondere Informationen

Einführung jeweils 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn.

 

Künstler*innengespräch am 22. August im Anschluss an die Vorstellung

 

Eine Produktion der Ruhrtriennale. In Kooperation mit der Ruhr-Universität Bochum.

 

Sprachinformation: Deutsch mit englischen Übertiteln.

 

Cookies
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen ein angenehmeres Surfen zu ermöglichen.
Mehr Infos